Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Telemann - Ouvertures pittoresques

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue numberBIS-1979 SACD
Release date2013-01-10
Orig. sample rate44100Hz
Total time77:12

Choc de Classica, 04/2013
CD des Tages vom 25.04.2013, Radio Stephansdom

"This is state of the art Telemann and highly recommended.”

Throughout a long and extremely productive career, Georg Philipp Telemann harboured a great affection for the overture-suite, consisting of a French overture followed by a number of dances and character movements. Tempering the rigid model inherited from the French tradition with his own rich powers of invention and playfulness, he remained true to the form long after it had gone out of fashion.
One variant of which he was particularly fond was the ouverture pittoresque, which offered a welcome opportunity to revel in tone-painting and characterization: ‘Nobody paints with stronger brushstrokes than him’ was the verdict by one of Telemann’s contemporaries. Instances here are the so-called ‘Völker-Ouvertüre’ where we are introduced to different nationalities (Turks, Swiss and Muscovites), and the Ouverture, jointes d'une Suite tragi-comique, in which Telemann depicts various ailments (hypochondria and gout being two of them) and their possible remedies. Another early influence was folk music, and specifically the Polish folk music of the Cracow region, where Telemann spent time in his youth, as Hofkapellmeister to Count Erdmann von Promnitz. In an early example of cross over, he experimented with clothing this music of a ‘true barbaric beauty’ in ‘Italian dress’. One result was the two ‘Polish’ concertos for strings, in which Telemann’s passion for Polish music can be felt from the very first note. Dignified, festive polonoises with chromatically tinged melodic twists begin both concertos, while the fast movements include many examples of Polish colours, such as drone-like effects reminiscent of the dudy, or Polish bagpipes.
With a number of highly praised recordings, the Polish band Arte dei Suonatori is firmly established as a leading ensemble performing on authentic instruments. Among the group’s recordings for BIS is a previous collaboration with Martin Gester: the set of Handel's Concerti grossi, Op.6, which was selected as ‘Orchestral Disc of the Month’ in BBC Music Magazine, and described as ‘a model of authentic Handel performance’ in the German early music magazine Toccata.
Extra material for download
  Composer: Telemann, Georg Philipp
  Ouverture in D major, TWV55:D15 22:42
01 Ouverture 06:39 $ 1.41 USD
02 Prélude. Très viste 01:04 $ 0.22 USD
03 Gigue 02:39 $ 0.56 USD
04 Menuet I / Menuet II 03:09 $ 0.66 USD
05 Harlequinade 02:34 $ 0.54 USD
06 Loure 02:42 $ 0.57 USD
07 Rondeau 01:18 $ 0.27 USD
08 Réjouissance 02:37 $ 0.58 USD
  Ouverture in B flat major, TWV55:B5 (‘Völker-Ouvertüre’) 21:43
09 Ouverture 06:30 $ 1.38 USD
10 Menuet I / Menuet II. Doucement 03:31 $ 0.75 USD
11 Les Turcs 02:23 $ 0.51 USD
12 Les Suisses. Grave – Viste 01:44 $ 0.37 USD
13 Les Moscovites 01:32 $ 0.33 USD
14 Les Portugais. Grave – Viste 02:26 $ 0.52 USD
15 Les Boiteux 01:26 $ 0.30 USD
16 Les Coureurs 02:11 $ 0.50 USD
  Concerto polonois in B flat major, TWV43:B3 08:50
17 Polonoise 02:07 $ 0.45 USD
18 Allegro 03:29 $ 0.73 USD
19 Largo 02:15 $ 0.47 USD
20 Allegro 00:59 $ 0.23 USD
  Concerto polonois in G major, TWV43:G7 08:11
21 Allegro moderato 02:00 $ 0.43 USD
22 Allegro vivace 02:12 $ 0.47 USD
23 Largo 02:11 $ 0.46 USD
24 Allegro 01:48 $ 0.41 USD
  Ouverture, jointes d’une Suite tragi-comique in D major, TWV55:D22 14:03
25 Ouverture 04:47 $ 1.02 USD
26 Le Podagre. Loure 02:09 $ 0.45 USD
27 Remède expérimenté: La Poste et la Dance. Menuet en
00:59 $ 0.21 USD
28 L’hypocondre. Sarabande/Gigue 02:18 $ 0.49 USD
29 Remède: Souffrance héroïque. Marche 01:06 $ 0.23 USD
30 Le Petit-Maître 01:42 $ 0.36 USD
31 Remède: Petite-maison. Furies 01:02 $ 0.31 USD
  Album total 77:12
ComposerTelemann, Georg Philipp
ConductorGester, Martin
EnsembleArte dei Suonatori
Baroque ensembleArte dei Suonatori

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News