Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

J.S. Bach - Cantatas, Vol.31 (BWV 91, 101, 121 and 133)

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue numberBIS-1481 SACD
Release date2006-04-30
Orig. sample rate88200Hz
Total time77:25

Music Web International: outstanding.

On this disc three jubilant Christmas cantatas, BWV91, BWV121 and BWV133, all from 1724, are performed along with Nimm von uns Herr (BWV101), a work of more sombre colours from the same year.
The latest additions to Masaaki Suzuki’s cantata cycle have been receiving high praise, with volume 29 (BIS-CD-1461) gathering top marks and a recommendation from German web site Klassik Heute, as well as being named ‘Opera & Vocal Disc of the Month’ in Classic FM Magazine (UK) and ‘Benchmark Recording’ in BBC Music Magazine. The critic in Classic FM Magazine wrote: ‘The sheer polish and technical accomplishment of the music-making immediately hold the ear, and are reinforced by subtle phrasing and a quality of listening among all concerned that allows Bach’s counterpoint to progress with lightness and jaw-dropping clarity.’ Volume 28 (BIS-CD-1451) was also noticed by the reviewers, who reported about ‘consistently outstanding performances, musical beyond belief, and worthy of any collection’ (MusicWeb International.) The critic of the French magazine Classica-Répertoire was especially impressed by the orchestra and ‘the flawlessness of its interpretation, the beauty of its colours and the liveliness of its playing.’
On the present disc Bach Collegium Japan is complemented by the brass players of Concerto Palatino, who add to all of these qualities. The four soloists are all veterans of the BCJ cantata cycle.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 18.09
Extra material for download
  Composer: Bach, Johann Sebastian
  Gelobet seist du, Jesu Christ, BWV 91 15:23
01 I. Chorus - Gelobet seist du, Jesu Christ... 02:36 $ 0.62 USD
02 II. Recitativo (soprano) - Der Glanz der höchsten
01:37 $ 0.39 USD
03 III. Aria (tenore) - Gott, dem der Erden Kreis zu klein... 02:31 $ 0.60 USD
04 IV. Recitativo (bass) - O Christenheit! Wohlan, so mache die
01:17 $ 0.31 USD
05 V. Aria Duetto (soprano, alto) - Die Armut, so Gott auf sich
06:42 $ 1.61 USD
06 VI. Chorale - Das hat er alles uns getan... 00:40 $ 0.16 USD
  Nimmt von uns Herr, du treuer Gott, BWV 101 26:02
07 I. Chorus - Nimmt von uns Herr, du treuer Gott... 07:42 $ 1.85 USD
08 II. Aria (tenore) - Handle nicht nach deinen Rechten... 03:08 $ 0.75 USD
09 III. Recitativo (soprano) - Ach! Herr Gott, durch die Treue
02:05 $ 0.50 USD
10 IV. Aria (basso) - Warum will du so zornig sein?... 04:14 $ 1.02 USD
11 V. Recitativo (tenore) - Die Sünd hat uns verderbet sehr... 01:58 $ 0.47 USD
12 VI. Aria (soprano, alto) - Gedenk an Jesu bittern Tod!... 06:10 $ 1.48 USD
13 VII. Chorale - Leit uns mit deiner rechten Hand... 00:45 $ 0.18 USD
  Christum wir sollen loben schon, BWV 121 16:33
14 I. Chorus - Christum wir sollen loben schon... 02:50 $ 0.68 USD
15 II. Aria (tenore) - O du von Gott erhöhte Kreatur... 04:17 $ 1.03 USD
16 III. Recitativo (alto) - Der Gnade unermesslich´s Wesen... 01:08 $ 0.27 USD
17 IV. Aria (basso) - Johannis freudenvolles Springen... 06:25 $ 1.54 USD
18 V. Recitativo (soprano) - Doch wie erblickt er dich in
deiner Krippe?...
00:53 $ 0.21 USD
19 VI. Choral - Lob, Ehr und Dank sei dir gesagt... 01:00 $ 0.24 USD
  Ich freue mich in dir, BWV 133 17:25
20 I. Chorus - Ich freue mich in dir... 03:49 $ 0.92 USD
21 II. Aria (alto) - Getrost! es fasst ein heiliger Leib... 03:57 $ 0.95 USD
22 III. Recitativo (tenore) - Ein Adam mag sich voller
01:02 $ 0.25 USD
23 IV. Aria (soprano) - Wie liblich klingt er in den Ohren... 06:39 $ 1.60 USD
24 V. Recitativo (bass) - Wohlan, des Todes Furcht und
01:00 $ 0.24 USD
25 VI. Choral - Wohlan, so will ich mich... 00:58 $ 0.23 USD
ConductorSuzuki, Masaaki
ComposerBach, Johann Sebastian
Brass ensembleConcerto Palatino
OrchestraBach Collegium Japan
SopranoNonoshita, Yukari
TenorTurk (Türk), Gerd
BassKooij, Peter
Counter-tenorBlaze, Robin

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News