Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

J.S. Bach - Cantatas, Vol.51

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue numberBIS-1961 SACD
Release date2012-08-01
Orig. sample rate44100Hz
Total time80:18 quadruple 4 stars, October 2012; Klassik Heute 10/10/10 October 2012.

The four cantatas gathered here were all composed for specific events such as funerals and weddings. Like all the sacred cantatas, they contain biblical references and include chorales, but Bach’s sacred occasional pieces are independent works and did not form part of his cantata cycles for the Sundays and feast days of the church year. This makes it to some extent difficult to place the individual works in context: for instance two of cantatas included here were intended for wedding ceremonies, and one for a funeral, but we do not know the circumstances regarding the fourth piece, Nun danket alle Gott, BWV 192. Similarly, we do know the identity of the person whose death was mourned to the music of Ich lasse dich nicht… BWV 157, but the names of the couples whose weddings were accompanied by BWV 195 and BWV 120a respectively are unknown. Nevertheless the music speaks for itself – BWV 195 suitably joyous with timpani and trumpets, and BWV 157 expressing a mellowness and quiet confidence in eternal life through its exquisite chamber-musical combination of solo instruments: transverse flute, oboe d’amore and viola d’amore. As elsewhere in his production, Bach would at times reuse material from other compositions, and a striking example is the Sinfonia in BWV 120a, a reworking for organ solo and orchestra of the famous prelude from the E major violin partita. With another four volumes yet to come, the cycle of cantatas initiated by Masaaki Suzuki and his Bach Collegium Japan in 1995 is nearing completion, without any signs of flagging, as witness the warm welcome extended to Volume 50 by reviewers remarking upon the consistently high quality of both interpretations and performances throughout the series.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 0.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 16.53
Extra material for download
  Composer: Bach, Johann Sebastian
  Dem Gerechten muss das Licht immer wieder aufgehen, BWV195 18:30
01 1. [Chorus]. Dem Gerechten muss das Licht immer wieder
04:37 $ 0.97 USD
02 2. Recitativo (Basso). Dem Freudenlicht gerechter Frommen… 01:07 $ 0.23 USD
03 3. Aria (Basso). Rühmet Gottes Güt und Treu… 04:50 $ 1.02 USD
04 4. Recitativo (Soprano). Wohlan, so knüpfet denn ein
01:08 $ 0.24 USD
05 5. Chorus. Wir kommen, deine Heiligkeit… 06:05 $ 1.28 USD
06 6. Choral. Nun danket all und bringet Ehr… 00:43 $ 0.15 USD
  Nun danket alle Gott, BWV192 10:46
07 1. Chorus. Nun danket alle Gott… 04:53 $ 1.03 USD
08 2. [Duetto] (Soprano, Basso). Der ewig reiche Gott… 02:56 $ 0.62 USD
09 3. [Chorus]. Lob, Ehr und Preis sei Gott… 02:57 $ 0.62 USD
  Ich lasse dich nicht, du segnest mich denn, BWV157 19:26
10 1. Duetto (Tenore, Basso). Ich lasse dich nicht, du segnest
mich denn!
04:48 $ 1.01 USD
11 2. Aria (Tenore). Ich halte meinen Jesum feste… 06:44 $ 1.41 USD
12 3. Recitativo (Tenore). Mein lieber Jesu du… 01:20 $ 0.28 USD
13 4. Aria [e Recitativo e Arioso] (Basso). Ja, ja, ich halte
Jesum feste…
05:48 $ 1.22 USD
14 5. Choral. Meinen Jesum lass ich nicht… 00:46 $ 0.16 USD
  Herr Gott, Beherrscher aller Dinge, BWV120a 30:01
15 1. [Chorus]. Herr Gott, Beherrscher aller Dinge… 06:18 $ 1.32 USD
16 2. Recitativo [e Chorus] (Basso, Tenore). Wie wunderbar, o
02:56 $ 0.62 USD
17 3. Aria (Soprano). Leit, o Gott, durch deine Liebe… 06:08 $ 1.29 USD
18 4. Sinfonia 03:33 $ 0.75 USD
19 5. Recitativo [e Chorus] (Tenore). Herr Zebaoth… 01:20 $ 0.28 USD
20 6. Aria (Duetto) (Alto, Tenore). Herr, fange an und sprich
den Segen…
07:03 $ 1.48 USD
21 7. Recitativo (Basso). Der Herr, Herr unser Gott, sei so mit
01:25 $ 0.30 USD
22 8. Choral. Lobe den Herren, der deinen Stand sichtbar
01:18 $ 0.27 USD
  Album total 80:18
ComposerBach, Johann Sebastian
ConductorSuzuki, Masaaki
OrchestraBach Collegium Japan
BassKooij, Peter
TenorGenz, Christoph
SopranoBlažíková, Hana
AltoGuillon, Damien
Counter-tenorGuillon, Damien

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News