Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

J.S. Bach - Cantatas, Vol.28 (BWV 26, 62, 116, and 129)

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue numberBIS-1451 SACD
Release date2005-06-28
Orig. sample rate88200Hz
Total time68:44

Music Web International: outstanding.

It is with glad tidings that we start a new chapter in our Bach Cantata series. Nun komm, der Heiden Heiland, originally performed on the first Sunday of Advent – and thus the beginning of a new church year – is the first cantata that we release in surround sound, a feature which adds to the dramatic aspect never far away in these miniature ‘church operas’. (The gain will be obvious for those who have had the opportunity to listen to Bach Collegium Japan in excerpts from the St. Matthew Passion – on recently released BIS-SACD-1500 – in surround sound.) This is the reason why the cantata series, from the present volume onwards, will be released as hybrid SACDs. (Being hybrid discs, they are also playable – in stereo – on all CD players.) The upgrading of the sound carrier format is accompanied by an updating of the cover, mirroring the ever-fresh interpretations by Masaaki Suzuki and Bach Collegium Japan.

The soloists on the present disc will be known to everyone who has followed the series, with Peter Kooij excelling in the operatic ‘Streite, siege, starker Held’ (BWV 62) and the virtuosic ‘An irdische Schätze’ (BWV 26) and Robin Blaze providing a magic moment in his duet with Masamitsu San’nomiya’s oboe d’amore in ‘Ach, unaussprechlich ist die Not’ from BWV 116.
Extra material for download
  Composer: Bach, Johann Sebastian
  Nun komm, der Heiden Heiland, BWV 62 17:36
01 I. Chorus - Nun komm, der Heiden Heiland... 04:07 $ 0.99 USD
02 II. Aria (tenore) - Bewundert, o Menschen, dies grosse
06:28 $ 1.55 USD
03 III. Recitativo (bass) - So geht aus Gottes Herrlichkeit und
00:48 $ 0.19 USD
04 IV. Aria (bass) - Streite, siege, starker Held! 04:45 $ 1.14 USD
05 V. Recitativo (soprano, alto) - Wir ehren diese
00:52 $ 0.21 USD
06 VI. Choral - Lob sei Gott, dem Vater, ton... 00:36 $ 0.14 USD
  Composer: Bach, Johann Sebastian
  Wohl dem, der sich auf seinen Gott, BWV 139 17:31
07 I. Chorus - Wohl dem, der sich auf seinen Gott... 04:39 $ 1.12 USD
08 II. Aria (tenore) - Gott ist mein Freund; was hilft das
06:00 $ 1.44 USD
09 III. Recitativo (alto) - Der Heiland sendet ja die Seinen... 00:39 $ 0.16 USD
10 IV. Aria (bass) - Das Unglück schlägt auf allen seiten... 04:40 $ 1.12 USD
11 V. Recitativo (soprano) - Ja, trag ich gleich den grössten
Feind in mir...
00:50 $ 0.20 USD
12 VI. Choral - Dahero Troz der Höllen Heer! 00:43 $ 0.17 USD
  Composer: Bach, Johann Sebastian
  Ach wie flüchtig, ach wie nichtig, BWV 26 14:35
13 I. Chorus - Ach wie flüchtig, ach wie nichtig... 02:19 $ 0.56 USD
14 II. Aria (tenore) - So schnell ein rauschend Wasser
schiesst, ...
06:07 $ 1.47 USD
15 III. Recitativo (alto) - Die Freude wird zur Traurigkeit... 00:51 $ 0.20 USD
16 IV. Aria (bass) - An irdische Schätze das Herze zu
03:52 $ 0.93 USD
17 V. Recitativo (soprano) - Die höchste Herrlichkeit und
00:45 $ 0.18 USD
18 VI. Choral - Ach wie flüchtig, ach wie nichtig... 00:41 $ 0.16 USD
  Composer: Bach, Johann Sebastian
  Du Friedefürst, Herr Jesu Christ, BWV 116 17:05
19 I. Chorus - Du Friedefürst, Herr Jesu Christ... 04:07 $ 0.99 USD
20 II. Aria (alto) - Ach, unaussprechlich ist die Not... 04:23 $ 1.05 USD
21 III. Recitativo (tenore) - Gedenke doch... 00:48 $ 0.19 USD
22 IV. Terzetto (soprano, tenore, bass) - Ach, wir bekennen
unsre Schuld...
05:51 $ 1.40 USD
23 V. Recitativo (alto) - Ach, lass uns durch die scharfen
01:04 $ 0.26 USD
24 VI. Choral - Erleucht auch under Sinn und Herz... 00:52 $ 0.21 USD
  Album total 68:44
EnsembleBach Collegium Japan
ComposerBach, Johann Sebastian
ConductorSuzuki, Masaaki
TenorSakurada, Makoto
BassKooij, Peter
Counter-tenorBlaze, Robin
SopranoNonoshita, Yukari

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News