Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

J.S. Bach - Cantatas, Vol.37

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue numberBIS-1621 SACD
Release date2007-10-30
Orig. sample rate44100Hz
Total time77:21

Among some 200 extant cantatas by Bach's hand, there are only a few solo cantatas, written for one singer and orchestra. Gathered on this disc are three of these, all of them for alto, together with the aria Bekennen will ich seinen Namen (BWV 200). The three cantatas were all composed in 1726, after Bach had already produced a number of 'standard cantatas' involving choir. With these works, Bach takes another step into the musical unknown: he increasingly includes instrumental movements, and is particularly fond of giving soloistic duties to the organ. The 37th volume of Bach Collegium Japan's, and Masaaki Suzuki's Cantata Cycle, is thus a very special one, focussing on the voice and artistry of Robin Blaze, while at the same time giving ample scope for Masaaki Suzuki's skills at the organ. This issue is also unique in that one of the cantatas, Vergnügte Ruh, beliebte Seelenlust, was recorded in the St Crucis Church in Erfurt, making use of the large organ there. The rest of the programme was recorded on BCJ's home-ground, the Kobe Shoin Women’s University Chapel in Japan, which has seen the making of the entire cantata cycle so far.
Extra material for download
  Composer: Bach, Johann Sebastian
  Gott soll allein mein Herze haben, BWV169 22:47
01 1. Sinfonia 08:04 $ 1.69 USD
02 2. Arioso. Gott soll allein mein Herze haben… 02:25 $ 0.51 USD
03 3. Aria. Gott soll allein mein Herze haben… 05:43 $ 1.20 USD
04 4. Recitativo. Was ist die Liebe Gottes?… 00:42 $ 0.15 USD
05 5. Aria. Stirb in mir… 04:35 $ 0.96 USD
06 6. Recitativo. Doch meint es auch dabei… 00:24 $ 0.08 USD
07 7. Choral. Du süße Liebe, schenk uns deine Gunst… 00:54 $ 0.19 USD
  Composer: Bach, Johann Sebastian
  Vergnügte Ruh, beliebte Seelenlust, BWV170 23:03
08 1. Aria. Vergnügte Ruh, beliebte Seelenlust… 06:33 $ 1.38 USD
09 2. Recitativo. Die Welt, das Sündenhaus… 01:16 $ 0.27 USD
10 3. Aria. Wie jammern mich doch die verkehrten Herzen… 08:09 $ 1.71 USD
11 4. Recitativo. Wer sollte sich demnach… 01:06 $ 0.23 USD
12 5. Aria. Mir ekelt mehr zu leben… 05:59 $ 1.26 USD
  Composer: Bach, Johann Sebastian
  Geist und Seele wird verwirret, BWV35 25:43
13 1. Concerto 05:23 $ 1.13 USD
14 2. Aria. Geist und Seele wird verwirret… 08:04 $ 1.69 USD
15 3. Recitativo. Ich wundre mich… 01:25 $ 0.30 USD
16 4. Aria. Gott hat alles wohlgemacht… 03:16 $ 0.69 USD
17 5. Sinfonia 03:28 $ 0.73 USD
18 6. Recitativo. Ach, starker Gott, lass mich… 01:15 $ 0.26 USD
19 7. Aria. Ich wünsche nur bei Gott zu leben… 02:52 $ 0.60 USD
  Composer: Bach, Johann Sebastian
20 Bekennen will ich seinen Namen, BWV200 04:04 $ 0.85 USD
  Album total 77:21
ComposerBach, Johann Sebastian
Choir & orchestraBach Collegium Japan
ConductorSuzuki, Masaaki
AltoBlaze, Robin

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News