Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Gurdjieff – Ex Oriente

Catalogue numberBIS-2435 CD
Release date2019-05-10
Orig. sample rate96000Hz
Total time56:05

One of the great mystics of the early 20th century, George lvanovich Gurdjieff was born in Alexandropol on the border of Russian Armenia and Turkey. As a young man, he began to travel east as far as Tibet, Afghanistan and Central Asia, in search of spiritual enlightenment. Visiting ancient temples, Gurdjieff learned from spiritual teachers and absorbed music from all the places he visited. On his return to the West, he gathered a group of followers who were drawn to his charismatic personality.

One of these was the pianist and composer Thomas de Hartmann, and a unique collaboration between de Hartmann and Gurdjieff ensued which would produce well over 300 piano pieces. Gurdjieff would play his melodies on the guitar or the piano and de Hartmann would write them down, harmonize and provide them with minimalistic accompaniments. The guitarist Gunter Herbig came across Gurdjieff’s writings and music in his youth. For decades he cherished the idea of transcribing these pieces for his own instrument, but it wasn’t until he began to experiment with an electric guitar that he found a way of doing so.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 13.43
Extra material for download
  Composer: Gurdjieff, George lvanovich
01 Sayyid Chant and Dance (30.III.1926) 04:22 $ 1.05 USD
02 As if the Stormy Years had Passed 04:03 $ 0.97 USD
03 The Bokharian Dervish, Hadji-Asvatz-Troov 04:45 $ 1.14 USD
04 Prayer 02:43 $ 0.65 USD
05 Sayyid Chant and Dance (22.V.1926) 06:48 $ 1.63 USD
06 When Gafar and Zeinab walk in a somnambulistic state 04:34 $ 1.10 USD
07 Sayyid Chant and Dance (undated) 05:10 $ 1.24 USD
08 Tibetan Dance, Fragment No.6 from ‘The Struggle of the
02:10 $ 0.52 USD
09 Molto lento e liberamente 02:42 $ 0.65 USD
10 Fragment No.4, from ‘The Struggle of the Magicians’ 04:52 $ 1.17 USD
11 The Resurrection of Christ 03:16 $ 0.78 USD
12 Méditation  02:21 $ 0.56 USD
13 Reading from a Sacred Book 08:11 $ 1.96 USD
  Album total 56:05
ComposerGurdjieff, George lvanovich
Electric guitarHerbig, Gunter
ArrangerHartmann, Thomas de
Herbig, Gunter

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News