Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Schubert + Brahms

Catalogue numberBIS-2680 SACD
Release date2024-02-09
Orig. sample rate96000Hz
Total time81:19

24 FLAC Discount

For his series called Schubert+, pianist Can Çakmur juxtaposes the complete major piano solo compositions by the Viennese composer with works by other composers who were inspired by his music, thus providing the opportunity to see these works in a new light. While making up a near complete anthology of Schubert’s completed major piano music, each disc is also intended as a selfcontained recital.
In this second instalment, Çakmur performs pieces published after Schubert’s death, the three Klavierstücke, D 946, which are not known to have been intended as a new series of impromptus. Since their first editor was Brahms, it seemed logical to include one of his late cycle of miniatures, here the Vier Klavierstücke, Op. 119. The pieces by Schubert and Brahms share a spontaneity, even an apparent lightness, that often conceals an unsuspected depth beneath the surface. The programme concludes with the Four Impromptus, D 935, an ambitious cycle also published after Schubert’s death. Schubert’s name would become closely associated with this genre, often characterised by a lyrical melody and a free-flowing structure, with a sense of spontaneity. With it, Schubert seems to have found an ideal setting for the expression of his genius.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 12.19
Extra material for download
  Composer: Schubert, Franz
  Impromptus, D 935 39:28
01 No. 1 in F minor. Allegro moderato 11:32 $ 1.73 USD
02 No. 2 in A flat major. Allegretto 07:28 $ 1.12 USD
03 No. 3 in B flat major. Andante (Theme and Variations) 13:26 $ 2.02 USD
04 No. 4 in F minor. Allegro scherzando 07:02 $ 1.06 USD
  Composer: Brahms, Johannes
  Vier Klavierstücke, Op. 119 16:19
05 No. 1. Intermezzo in B minor. Adagio 03:33 $ 0.53 USD
06 No. 2. Intermezzo in E minor. Andantino un poco agitato 05:01 $ 0.75 USD
07 No. 3. Intermezzo in C major. Grazioso e giocoso 01:43 $ 0.26 USD
08 No. 4. Rhapsody in E flat major. Allegro risoluto 06:02 $ 0.91 USD
  Composer: Schubert, Franz
  Drei Klavierstücke, D 946 25:27
09 No. 1 in E flat minor. Allegro assai 08:25 $ 1.26 USD
10 No. 2 in E flat major. Allegretto 11:33 $ 1.73 USD
11 No. 3 in C major. Allegro 05:29 $ 0.82 USD
  Album total 81:19
ComposerBrahms, Johannes
Schubert, Franz
PianoÇakmur, Can

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News