Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Aho – Concert for Chamber Orchestra

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue numberBIS-1686 CD
Release date2009-03-30
Orig. sample rate44100Hz
Total time79:34

Music Web International: Recording of the Month.

In 2003 Kalevi Aho received the unusual commission of composing a complete concert programme. The composer's ambition was to devise a great ‘metasymphony’ in which each work should also be suitable for performance individually, and in his liner notes Aho relates the special difficulties involved in such a project. From the start he knew that the concert would culminate with a newly written symphony, and different circumstances then led him to choose to let the concert open with a song cycle, and continue with a concerto for viola. Aho also decided to compose the pieces in the order they would appear in the concert, and the next piece in the puzzle came when he encountered a Finnish translation of the Chilean poet Pablo Neruda's posthumous collection The Book of Questions. The poems included are made up exclusively of questions, of which Aho has chosen a number, combining them into eleven sets to be performed without a break. The result is Kysymysten kirja, a meditative, philosophical song cycle, which in concert leads immediately into the Viola Concerto, Aho's first for this instrument. The concert ends with Symphony No.14 ‘Rituals’, scored for sixteen string players, wind quintet and two percussionists. Such small forces form a striking contrast to the monumental score of the composer's Twelfth Symphony ‘Luosto’ [BIS-SACD-1676], but it is nevertheless a highly colourful work, in which an important part is played by the darabuka and the djembe, hand drums of Arabic and African origin respectively. Kalevi Aho, who this year celebrates his 60th birthday, is increasingly recognized as one of today's leading orchestral composers, not least through a number of critically acclaimed recordings on BIS. In 1999 his Seventh Symphony was hailed as ‘one one of our century's great orchestral scores’ in American Record Guide, while International Record Guide described the recently released Twelfth Symphony as ‘music of such graphic impact and visually arresting imagery that it feels as though you could reach out and touch it’. That recording also featured John Storgårds and the Chamber Orchestra of Lapland, who for this disc are joined by mezzo-soprano Monica Groop and Anna Kreetta Gribajcevic, viola.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 16.50
Extra material for download
  Composer: Aho, Kalevi
  Kysymysten kirja (The Book of Questions) (Suite for
mezzo-soprano and chamber orchestra)
01 I. Jos olenkin (If I Just Had) 02:55 $ 0.61 USD
02 II. Ruusun asu · (The Rose’s Apparel) 02:07 $ 0.44 USD
03 III. Merenneitojen kyynelet (A Mermaid’s Tears) 02:35 $ 0.54 USD
04 IV. Minne päättyy sateenkaari? (Where Does the Rainbow
03:06 $ 0.65 USD
05 V. Nainen unessa (The Woman in the Dream) 01:00 $ 0.21 USD
06 VI. Mitä merkitystä? (What Meaning) 01:57 $ 0.41 USD
07 VII. Lapsuuteni kuollessa (When My Childhood Died) 01:38 $ 0.34 USD
08 VIII. Tunneli (The Tunnel) 01:41 $ 0.35 USD
09 IX. Kun näen meren (When I See the Sea) 01:20 $ 0.28 USD
10 X. Kukkiva omenapuu (The Flowering Apple Tree) 01:22 $ 0.29 USD
11 XI. Perhoset (Butterflies) 04:40 $ 0.98 USD
  Concerto for Viola and Chamber Orchestra 24:11
12 Crotchet = 58 05:19 $ 1.12 USD
13 Presto 03:36 $ 0.76 USD
14 Crotchet = 76 05:11 $ 1.09 USD
15 Cadenza 04:21 $ 0.91 USD
16 Allegretto 05:44 $ 1.20 USD
  Symphony No.14, Rituaaleja Rituals 30:03
17 Loitsu I (Kiihko) (Incantation I [Zeal]) 10:51 $ 2.28 USD
18 Interludi I (Interlude I) 02:08 $ 0.45 USD
19 Loitsu II (Kaiho ja vimma) (Incantation II [Yearning and
04:55 $ 1.03 USD
20 Kulkue (Procession Jukka Koski gongs & tam-tams) 06:19 $ 1.33 USD
21 Interludi II (Interlude II) 02:15 $ 0.47 USD
22 Loitsu III (Lopetuksen mantra) (Incantation III [Mantra of
the Ending])
03:35 $ 0.75 USD
  Album total 79:34
ComposerAho, Kalevi
Mezzo-sopranoGroop, Monica
OrchestraChamber Orchestra of Lapland
ConductorStorgards (Storgårds), John
ViolaGribajcevic, Anna Kreetta
Darabuka & djembeRechberger, Herman

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News