Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Attilio Ariosti - The Stockholm Sonatas I

Catalogue numberBIS-1535 CD
Release date2006-06-28
Total time69:14

Attilio Ariosti (1666-1729) was a singer and organist, as well as a cellist and composer. When his name appears today, however, it is usually in connection with the viola d’amore. Ariosti was famous as a virtuoso performer on this instrument, but he also composed for it. The chamber works for viola d’amore which have survived are his Collection of Lessons and the Recueil de Pièces pour la Viol d’Amour, comprising 21 solos – really sonatas in all but name. Together they form the largest single set of baroque works for the viola d’amore.
During Ariosti’s lifetime these works probably circulated in manuscript copies. That the solos of the Recueil survive at all is thanks to a young music student, Johan Helmich Roman, later known as the father of Swedish music, who copied them in the late 1710s and brought them home with him to Stockholm.

In his initiated liner notes, Thomas Georgi, one of today’s finest exponents of the viola d’amore, gives an interesting introduction to Ariosti and the instrument, including the various tunings and notational system that are associated with it.
This disc, the first of three, contains the six Lessons of the Collection, produced by Ariosti in order to promote the viola d’amore in England, his new home. Five of them appear as in the original, whereas Thomas Georgi has combined the sixth with four movements from the Recueil de Pièces, to form two sonatas – ‘Stockholm Sonatas’. A fascinating opportunity to enjoy a rarely heard instrument, expertly supported by Lucas Harris and Joëlle Morton, two of North America’s finest baroque instrumentalists.
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 10.24
Extra material for download
  Composer: Ariosti, Attilio
  Lezione I in E flat major 10:10
01 I. Allegro 03:09 $ 0.47 USD
02 II. Largo 03:46 $ 0.57 USD
03 III. Tempo Giusto 03:15 $ 0.49 USD
  Lezione II in A major 08:44
04 I. Cantabile: Grave 01:32 $ 0.23 USD
05 II. Vivace 02:14 $ 0.34 USD
06 III. Sarabande: Adagio 03:07 $ 0.47 USD
07 IV. Menuet 01:51 $ 0.28 USD
  Lezione III in E minor 12:59
08 I. Adagio 02:05 $ 0.31 USD
09 II. Allemanda 02:39 $ 0.40 USD
10 III. Adagio 04:49 $ 0.72 USD
11 IV. Giga (guitar) 03:26 $ 0.52 USD
  Lezione IV in F major 11:17
12 I. Adagio 03:02 $ 0.46 USD
13 II. Andante 03:00 $ 0.45 USD
14 III. Corrente 02:28 $ 0.37 USD
15 IV. Giga (guitar) 02:47 $ 0.42 USD
  Lezione V in E minor 08:25
16 I. Vivace 02:23 $ 0.36 USD
17 II. Largo 02:57 $ 0.44 USD
18 III. Giga (guitar) 03:05 $ 0.46 USD
  Sonata 6 in D major 08:37
19 I. Andante from Recueil de Pièces pour la Viol d´Amour 03:00 $ 0.45 USD
20 II. Menuet from Recueil de Pièces ... 02:35 $ 0.39 USD
21 III. Giga from Lezione VI (guitar) 01:12 $ 0.18 USD
22 IV. Rondeau from Lezione VI 01:50 $ 0.28 USD
  Sonata 7 in D major 08:02
23 I. A tempo guisto from Lezione VI 02:03 $ 0.31 USD
24 II. Corrente from Lezione VI (guitar) 01:55 $ 0.29 USD
25 III. Adagio from Recueil de Pièces... 02:09 $ 0.32 USD
26 IV. Giga from Recueil de Pièces... (guitar) 01:55 $ 0.29 USD
  Album total 69:14
ComposerAriosti, Attilio
Viola d'amoreGeorgi, Thomas
Theorbo/archlute/baroque guitarHarris, Lucas
Viola da gamba/great bass violMorton, Joëlle

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News