Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Hillborg – Eleven Gates

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue numberBIS-1406 SACD
Release date2011-07-30
Orig. sample rate44100Hz
Total time67:27

As demonstrated by the four works on this disc, anyone who enters Anders Hillborg’s world of sounds is in for a surprise. Complexity rubs shoulders with directness, sensuality with humour, hypnotic meditation with pulsating rhythms, and all is combined with an original sense of form and unfaltering craftsmanship. Such qualities have brought international recognition, and Hillborg recently became the first Swedish composer to have a work premièred by the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra when Cold Heat was performed in January 2011. Hillborg has called the symphony orchestra a ‘sound animal’, and he plainly delights in the effects that are possible to achieve when writing for the medium. His love affair with the orchestra started in the 1980s, when he abandoned electronic music, which had been his main sphere of interest until then. Around the same time, Hillborg formed a bond with the conductor Esa-Pekka Salonen, who here conducts Dreaming River from 1998 and Eleven Gates, a work he premièred with the Los Angeles Philharmonic in 2006. Although Salonen was a pioneer regarding Hillborg’s music, he is by no means alone in his enthusiasm today, however, as the impressive roster of conductors on this disc demonstrates. Sakari Oramo and Alan Gilbert are both among the most highly regarded conductors of our time, and also have a special relationship with the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra in common, as its current and former chief conductor. With Hillborg one is always closer to a musical ‘yes’ than to a ‘no’, and when he describes his roots in the tradition they are to be found in Stravinsky’s appetite rather than in Schoenberg’s rules. This generous music has struck a chord with the Stockholm orchestra, which commissioned both Dreaming River and Exquisite Corpse and over the years has performed no less than ten further works by Hillborg. The eminent orchestra has a distinguished discography, including a recent recording on BIS of Mahler's 9th Symphony which Gramophone accorded an Editor's Choice and described as 'a superb, devastating reading', with website remarking that 'the playing throughout really is exceptional'.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 13.91
Extra material for download
  Composer: Hillborg, Anders
01 King Tide (1999) 13:33 $ 2.85 USD
02 Exquisite Corpse (2002) 13:28 $ 2.83 USD
03 Dreaming River (1998) 20:14 $ 4.25 USD
  Eleven Gates (2005–06) 18:59
04 1. Drifting into D major 01:51 $ 0.39 USD
05 2. Suddenly in the Room with Chattering Mirrors 02:09 $ 0.45 USD
06 3. D major Still Life 00:24 $ 0.08 USD
07 4. Confused Dialogues with Woodpecker 00:57 $ 0.20 USD
08 5. Suddenly in the Room with Floating Mirrors 00:44 $ 0.15 USD
09 6. Into the Great Wide Open 03:56 $ 0.83 USD
10 7. Meadow of Sadsongs 02:47 $ 0.58 USD
11 8. Toypianos on the Surface of the Sea 00:50 $ 0.18 USD
12 9. String Quartet spiralling to the Seafloor 00:45 $ 0.16 USD
13 10. Seafloor Meditation (Whispering Mirrors at the Seafloor) 01:45 $ 0.37 USD
14 11. Waves, Pulse and Elastic Seabirds 02:51 $ 0.60 USD
  Album total 67:27
ComposerHillborg, Anders
OrchestraRoyal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra
ConductorGilbert, Alan
Oramo, Sakari
Salonen, Esa-Pekka

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News