Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Christian Lindberg - A composers portrait II

‘A wonderfully adept and individual composer with a style that in both rhythm and gesture is as flexible as it is light of touch’ is how Christian Lindberg was described on German website Klassik Heute after the release of ‘Christian Lindberg – A Composer’s Portrait’ in 2004. The reviewer in Fanfare was similarly appreciative, describing the performances as ‘world-class brilliant’ and making the CD itself one of his discs of the year. On this follow-up, Christian Lindberg again participates as a performer, playing or conducting – and in some works doing both at the same time! Alongside Lindberg the disc features Richard Tognetti and the Australian Chamber Orchestra in Asa, a work that sprang from Lindberg’s interest in the religious beliefs of the Vikings. Inspired by a poem by August Strindberg, OF BLOOD SO RED for chamber orchestra, is the longest work on the disc, and as Lindberg himself describes it in his liner notes, his most ‘serious’ piece ever. It is performed by the Swedish Chamber Orchestra conducted by Lindberg, who also recites the Strindberg poem. Remaining works include a trumpet concerto (with Ole Edvard Antonsen as soloist), two pieces for solo trombone and Gypsy Kingdom for trombone and string quartet, making this a programme as varied in sound and character as are the talents of its creator.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 15.50
Extra material for download
  Composer: Lindberg, Christian
  Asa (for electric violin, trombone, amplified harpsichord and amplified strings) 10:31
01 Soul at the beach – Metric Garden 03:32 $ 0.74 USD
02 Elvis in Memoriam 02:10 $ 0.46 USD
03 Lost Harmony – The World is an Asa-hole 04:49 $ 1.01 USD
04 Joe Jack Binglebandit (for solo trombone) 05:29 $ 1.15 USD
  Akbank Bunka (for trumpet and orchestra) 15:28
05 I. Akolebank 06:19 $ 1.33 USD
06 II. Japabunka 05:45 $ 1.21 USD
07 III. Turkjazz 03:24 $ 0.71 USD
08 Gipsy Kingdom (for trombone and string quartet) 12:02 $ 2.53 USD
  OF BLOOD SO RED (AV BLOD SÅ RÖTT), concerto for chamber orchestra 27:14
09 Hot Blood (Hett blod) 01:48 $ 0.38 USD
10 Steaming meat (Rykande kött) 02:13 $ 0.47 USD
11 Clear water (Friskt vatten) 05:25 $ 1.14 USD
12 Bad blood (Ont blod) 02:27 $ 0.51 USD
13 Horn song (Hornens sång) 00:44 $ 0.15 USD
14 Intermezzo 01:08 $ 0.24 USD
15 On slabs of white marble (På vita marmorskivor) 01:09 $ 0.24 USD
16 Sharp weapons (Slipade vapen) 02:18 $ 0.48 USD
17 Brightest red (Det lyser så rött) 03:21 $ 0.70 USD
18 Trembling from the cold (I kölden skalv) 03:54 $ 0.82 USD
19 A plucked-out heart (Ett urtaget hjärta) 02:47 $ 0.58 USD
20 Bombay Bay Barracuda (for trombone and tape) 03:04 $ 0.64 USD
  Album total 75:35
TromboneLindberg, Christian
HarpsichordPeres Da Costa, Neal
OrchestraAustralian Chamber Orchestra
Nordic Chamber Orchestra
Swedish Chamber Orchestra (Svenska Kammarorkestern)
ViolinTognetti, Richard
ComposerLindberg, Christian
TrumpetAntonsen, Ole Edvard
ConductorLindberg, Christian
EnsembleAustralian Chamber Orchestra

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News