Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Franz Liszt - 15 Songs

Catalogue numberBIS-2272 SACD
Release date2016-12-10
Orig. sample rate44100 Hz
Total time65:56

Timothy Fallon and Ammiel Bushakevitz appear regularly together in recital, and in 2013 won first prize in the Wigmore Hall/Kohn Foundation International Song Competition. For their début disc as a duo they have devised an all-Liszt programme which spans some 40 years of the composer's career, taking in settings of poems in four different languages. Most of Liszt's 70 or so songs were composed during the 1840s, but Liszt returned to many of them over the course of his life, sometimes revising them more than once and in some cases arranging them for solo piano. Certain of these arrangements, such as the three settings of sonnets by Petrarch which open the present disc, have become better known than the originals. Another Italian setting is the tenderly lyrical Angiolin da biondo crin, written for Liszt's daughter Blandine. Composed in 1839 it is the composer's first song, but Fallon and Bushakevitz have chosen to perform the revised version made some 10 years later. Although French was not Liszt’s mother tongue, it became his preferred language and he composed a number of songs to French texts – many of them by Victor Hugo, his friend and idol. Another author admired by Liszt was Schiller, whose Wilhelm Tell inspired revolutionaries during the tumultuous 1840s. Among some of the later songs are Jugendglück, a rhapsodic tour-de-force exemplary of Liszt’s virtuosic style, and Go not, happy day from 1879, the only English setting among his songs. The disc closes with another late song, Ihr Glocken von Marling, to a poem by Emil Kuh which inspired Liszt to create an intensely evocative soundscape.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 15.80
Extra material for download
  Tre sonetti di Petrarca, S.270/1 19:34
01 I. Pace non trovo 07:19 $ 1.76 USD
02 II. Benedetto sia ’l giorno 06:14 $ 1.50 USD
03 III. I’ vidi in terra angelici costumi 06:01 $ 1.44 USD
04 Angiolin dal biondo crin, S.269/2 05:45 $ 1.38 USD
05 Comment, disaient-ils, S.276/2 02:03 $ 0.49 USD
06 Oh! quand je dors, S.282/2 05:20 $ 1.28 USD
07 Enfant, si j’étais roi, S.283/2 03:05 $ 0.74 USD
08 S’il est un charmant gazon, S.284/2 02:35 $ 0.62 USD
09 Go not, happy day, S.335 03:12 $ 0.77 USD
10 Kling leise, mein Lied, S.301/2 05:16 $ 1.26 USD
11 Jugendglück, S.323 01:53 $ 0.45 USD
  Drei Lieder aus Schillers Wilhelm Tell, S.292/1 13:11
12 I. Der Fischerknabe 04:40 $ 1.12 USD
13 II. Der Hirt 05:06 $ 1.22 USD
14 III. Der Alpenjäger 03:25 $ 0.82 USD
15 Ihr Glocken von Marling, S.328 03:55 $ 0.94 USD
  Album total 65:56
PianoBushakevitz, Ammiel
TenorFallon, Timothy
SongFallon, Timothy

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News