Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Rimsky-Korsakov - The Snow Maiden

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue numberBIS-1577 CD
Release date2006-04-30
Orig. sample rate44100Hz
Total time82:27

Classics Today 10/10; Gramophone: outstanding.

While Rimsky-Korsakov nowadays is mainly known for orchestral works such as Sheherazade (BIS-CD-1377), Capriccio Espagnol and The Flight of the Bumle-Bee (both on BIS-CD-1387), a large part of his oeuvre consists of works for the stage, in which his imaginative and colourful orchestration contributed greatly to the dramatic effect.
The present disc, last of a four-part survey of Rimsky-Korsakov’s orchestral works, contains music mainly intended for the opera house: three suites from the operas The Snow Maiden, Pan Voyevoda and Christmas Eve are complemented by the overture to the opera The Tsar’s Bride and the Overture on Russian Themes. (The latter is the one piece of pure concert music on the programme, but even here we find an operatic connection: its opening features the ‘Slava’ (‘Glory’) theme that Mussorgsky used for the coronation scene in Boris Godunov.)
Previous releases in this series have been roundly praised by the reviewers not only for the ‘overwhelming’ commitment and ‘very musical partnership’ of the Malaysian Philharmonic Orchestra and Kees Bakels, but also for the recordings themselves: ‘Sonically these performances remain in a class of their own. The brilliance and realism are simply breathtaking, with a full dynamic range, ideal depth and breadth of soundstage, firm bass, open highs, and a panoramic splendor unrivaled on disc’ wrote the critic of web site Classics Today.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 17.13
Extra material for download
  Composer: Rimsky-Korsakov, Nikolai
01 The Tsar´s Bride, Overture 06:32 $ 1.37 USD
  Pan Voyevoda, Suite 22:58
02 I. Introduction 03:33 $ 0.75 USD
03 II. Krakowiak 03:28 $ 0.73 USD
04 III. Nocturne -Claire de Lune 04:29 $ 0.94 USD
05 IV. Mazurka 05:06 $ 1.07 USD
06 V. Polonaise 06:22 $ 1.34 USD
  Christmas Eve, Suite 27:08
07 I. Introduction to Scene 1 03:15 $ 0.68 USD
08 II. Introduction to Scene 6 02:20 $ 0.49 USD
09 III. Games and Dances of Stars 01:45 $ 0.37 USD
10 IV. Procession of the Comet - Round Dance 02:06 $ 0.44 USD
11 V. Csárdás and the Rain of Shooting Stars 00:38 $ 0.13 USD
12 VI. Devil´s Kolyadka 05:07 $ 1.07 USD
13 VII. Polonaise from Scene 7 05:09 $ 1.08 USD
14 VIII. Introduction to Scene 8 02:55 $ 0.61 USD
15 IX. Ovsyen and Kolyada Procession 03:53 $ 0.82 USD
16 Overture on Russian Themes, Op.28 11:53 $ 2.50 USD
  The Snow Maiden, Suite 13:04
17 I. Prologue 04:24 $ 0.92 USD
18 II. Dance of the Birds 03:07 $ 0.65 USD
19 III. The Procession 01:58 $ 0.41 USD
20 IV. Dance of the Clowns 03:35 $ 0.75 USD
  Album total 82:27
OrchestraMalaysian Philharmonic Orchestra
ConductorBakels, Kees
ComposerRimsky-Korsakov, Nikolai

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News