Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Skalkottas - Sinfonietta, Concerto and Suite

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue numberBIS-2434 SACD
Release date2020-02-07
Orig. sample rate48000Hz
Total time69:53

This programme of previously unrecorded works illustrates a highly distinctive aspect of Nikos Skalkottas as a composer: The ‘neoclassical’ Skalkottas goes hand in hand with the ‘national’ and the ‘modernist’ composer, the common denominators being perfect architecture of form, harmonic refinement and skilful orchestration. The opening Sinfonietta in B flat major is a typical example of the composer’s ‘neoclassical’ side. In four movements and with a duration of 25 minutes, it was written in 1948, during Skalkottas’s final years. It is followed by the Suite for Violin and Chamber Orchestra and the Concerto for Violin, Piano and Orchestra, examples of the composer’s atonal idiom. Both works were among the many that disappeared after the composer left Berlin in 1933.

The remaining pieces demonstrate Skalkottas’s involvement with the project of exploring the traditional music of Greece. The Cretan folk song Digenés in his Last Agony was transcribed and harmonized by Skalkottas – for this release a recording from 1930 of the voice of Eleftherios Venizelos, the Greek Prime Minister at the time, has been superimposed over the newly recorded orchestral accompaniment. The two Marches are original compositions, but follow Greek models, while the Nine Dances are Skalkottas’s orchestrations of published folk songs. Simple and functional, they are in no way reminiscent of his great work, the 36 Greek Dances for large orchestra, but still reveal the composer’s refined aesthetic approach. In a labour of love, the music is performed by conductor Byron Fidetzis and violinist Georgios Demertzis, who have both made important contributions to the Skalkottas discography, as well as pianist Vassilis Varvaresos and the Athens Philharmonia Orchestra, making their first appearance on BIS.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 16.72
Extra material for download
  Composer: Skalkottas, Nikos
  Sinfonietta in B flat major  26:02
01 I. Andante sostenuto 06:54 $ 1.66 USD
02 II. Andantino triste 06:37 $ 1.59 USD
03 III. Scherzino 05:12 $ 1.25 USD
04 IV. Finale 07:19 $ 1.76 USD
  Concerto for Violin, Piano and Orchestra 11:06
05 Allegro giusto 03:21 $ 0.80 USD
06 Andante sostenuto 03:10 $ 0.76 USD
07 Allegro vivo 00:56 $ 0.22 USD
08 Andante sostenuto 00:41 $ 0.16 USD
09 Allegro 02:58 $ 0.71 USD
  Suite for Violin and Chamber Orchestra 08:22
10 I. Allegro moderato 01:22 $ 0.33 USD
11 II. Moderato maestoso 02:03 $ 0.49 USD
12 III. Allegretto vivace 01:44 $ 0.42 USD
13 IV. Andante sostenuto 03:13 $ 0.77 USD
  Composer: Trad./arr. Nikos Skalkottas
14 Digenés in his Last Agony 02:30 $ 0.60 USD
15 Ancient Greek March 02:17 $ 0.55 USD
16 March 01:19 $ 0.32 USD
  Nine Greek Dances, for the Lyceum Club of Greek Women 18:03
17 The Vlach Woman 01:17 $ 0.31 USD
18 The Maypole 01:28 $ 0.35 USD
19 Mount Pelion Dance 01:35 $ 0.38 USD
20 High up on Kostilata 01:26 $ 0.34 USD
21 Corfiot Dance 01:13 $ 0.29 USD
22 Up the street 00:57 $ 0.23 USD
23 Lioúlios 05:37 $ 1.35 USD
24 Paraskevoúla 02:20 $ 0.56 USD
25 Physoúni 02:10 $ 0.52 USD
  Album total 69:53
ComposerSkalkottas, Nikos
Trad./arr. Nikos Skalkottas
OrchestraAthens Philharmonia Orchestra
ConductorFidetzis, Byron
PianoVarvaresos, Vassilis
ViolinDemertzis, Georgios
VoiceVenizelos, Eleftherios

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News