Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Dvořák - Symphony No.9

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue numberBIS-1856 SACD
Release date2012-10-01
Orig. sample rate44100Hz
Total time76:35 Double 5 stars, December 2012; Classics Today 10/9: "So this is the 37 billionth recording of the “New World” Symphony, but excellence is its own justification, and this recording is excellent"; Classics Today France 10/10 January 2013.

‘The most gripping Dvořák to come along in many years’ is how website Classics Today described the recently released disc with the composer’s Seventh Symphony, performed by Claus Peter Flor and the Malaysian Philharmonic Orchestra. This was quickly followed by the same team’s recording of Symphony No.8, and now the turn has come to Antonín Dvořák’s final work in the genre: Symphony No.9 – the ‘New World Symphony’. It was composed entirely on American soil, and the composer himself acknowledged that it ‘would not have been written this way if I had never seen America’. Nevertheless, and contrary to what is often claimed, he also maintained that he had not used any existing material, but ‘simply written original themes embodying the peculiarities of the Indian music’, developing them ‘with all the resources of modern rhythms, harmony, counterpoint and orchestral colour.’ Those themes, and Dvořák’s use of them, have exercised an irresistible attraction on audiences, ever since the first triumphant performance in 1893 at New York’s Carnegie Hall. The following year, Dvořák himself conducted the first Czech performance of the symphony. Perhaps to demonstrate to his compatriots in the audience that his heart nevertheless remained in his homeland, the composer included the overture Můj domov (My Home), composed some ten years previously. Part of the incidental music for a play, the overture is based on two popular songs, one of which, Kde domov můj (Where Is My Home), would later become the Czechoslovakian national anthem. On the present recording these two works frame another of Dvořák’s ‘nationalistic’ works, the light-hearted Czech Suite, consisting of five movements, all based on the dance rhythms of Bohemia, Moravia and Central Europe.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 15.70
Extra material for download
  Composer: Dvořák, Antonín
  Symphony No.9 in E minor, Op.95/B.178 (1893) 42:25
01 I. Adagio – Allegro molto 11:39 $ 2.45 USD
02 II. Largo 11:55 $ 2.50 USD
03 III. Scherzo. Molto vivace – Poco sostenuto 07:29 $ 1.57 USD
04 IV. Allegro con fuoco 11:22 $ 2.39 USD
  ˘Ceská suita (Czech Suite), Op.39/B.93 (1879) 22:52
05 I. Praeludium (Pastorale). Allegro moderato 03:22 $ 0.71 USD
06 II. Polka. Allegretto grazioso – Trio. Poco più mosso 05:26 $ 1.14 USD
07 III. Sousedská (Minuetto). Allegro giusto 04:18 $ 0.90 USD
08 IV. Romance (Romanza). Andante con moto 04:14 $ 0.89 USD
09 V. Finale (Furiant). Presto 05:32 $ 1.16 USD
10 M˚uj domov (My Home), overture, Op.62/B.125a (1882) 09:28 $ 1.99 USD
  Album total 76:35
ComposerDvořák, Antonín
OrchestraMalaysian Philharmonic Orchestra
ConductorFlor, Claus Peter

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News