Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Weiss - Lute Music

Catalogue numberBIS-1524 CD
Release date2006-02-28
Total time73:14

International Record Review: outstanding.

15 years ago lutenist Jakob Lindberg bought a very special instrument – one of the four extant lutes by Sixtus Rauwolf, built c. 1590. The restoration of the lute took several years and was rather painstaking: for some repairs they even used ancient wood from the library in the Palazzo Pitti in Florence! Considering the great age of the instrument it was nevertheless in good shape and is now probably the only one in the world that, retaining its original soundboard, is in playable condition. This unique feature Lindberg has wanted to celebrate by recording music suitable for the instrument. Once upon a time, probably in 1715, this lute was equipped with a new neck allowing for a greater number of courses. This makes it perfect for the lute works of Silvius Leopold Weiss (1687-1750), famous among his contemporaries as the finest lutenist of his generation. (There is some reason to believe that Bach composed a couple of his works for solo lute after having met Weiss in 1739.) Weiss was also the most prolific of all lute composers: some 600 pieces have survived, which may amount to half of his entire production for the instrument. Most of the pieces on this disc are early works, grouped in suites – or Sonatas as Weiss himself termed them – by the composer himself or, in some cases, by Jakob Lindberg. Included are some of Weiss’s best-known works, e.g. the Fantasie in C minor as well as one of his rare fugues for lute.

Some press voices:

"Jakob Lindberg spielt einmal mehr mit einer Virtuosität, die nicht als Selbstzweck erscheint, sondern die Werke Weissens ins richtige interpretatorische Licht rückt. Wie selbstverständlich (manchmal auch selbstvergessen) perlen die Läufe vor sich hin, ehe in den Tanzsätzen Schwung, Bewegung und rhythmischer Drive hinzu kommt." 04/2006
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 10.69
Extra material for download
  Composer: Weiss, Silvius Leopold
01 Prelude in E flat major 02:28 $ 0.37 USD
02 Ciaccona in E flat major 03:53 $ 0.58 USD
  Sonata in C minor 16:56
03 Fantasie 02:08 $ 0.32 USD
04 Allemande 05:02 $ 0.76 USD
05 Courante 02:19 $ 0.35 USD
06 Sarabande 03:27 $ 0.52 USD
07 Gavotte 01:38 $ 0.25 USD
08 Gigue 02:22 $ 0.36 USD
  Sonata in B flat major 24:58
09 Prelude 01:32 $ 0.23 USD
10 Ouverture 03:46 $ 0.57 USD
11 Courante 04:35 $ 0.69 USD
12 Bourrée 02:44 $ 0.41 USD
13 Sarabande 06:30 $ 0.98 USD
14 Presto 05:51 $ 0.88 USD
15 Prelude in D minor 01:30 $ 0.23 USD
16 Fugue in D minor 02:32 $ 0.38 USD
  Sonata in A minor, L'Infidèle
17 Entrée 03:09 $ 0.47 USD
  Sonata in A minor, L´Infidèle 15:51
18 Courante 02:50 $ 0.43 USD
19 Sarabande 04:21 $ 0.65 USD
20 Menuet 02:06 $ 0.32 USD
21 Musette 03:57 $ 0.59 USD
22 Paysanne 02:37 $ 0.39 USD
  Album total 73:14
LuteLindberg, Jakob
ComposerWeiss, Silvius Leopold

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News