Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Prokofiev - Symphonies Nos 1 - 3

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue numberBIS-2174 SACD
Release date2020-10-02
Orig. sample rate96000Hz
Total time86:33

As a composer Sergei Prokofiev was so versatile that audiences never quite knew what to expect. As a strategy, this could misfire but with his first symphony he got things just right. He once described what he had wanted to achieve: ‘If Haydn had lived into this era he would have kept his own style while absorbing things from what was new in music. That’s the kind of symphony I wanted to write...’ The ‘Classical’ symphony has been a true classic since its first performance in 1918 and is one of the few genuinely witty pieces in the twentieth-century orchestral repertory.

A few months after the performance, Prokofiev left Russia for the USA where he remained for some years before settling in Paris in 1923. It was here that he composed the Second Symphony, now with the aim to be as up-to-date as possible. The first audience in 1925 was more bewildered than enthusiastic, however, and Prokofiev himself came to have doubts, wondering whether in this symphony ‘made out of iron and steel’ he’d overdone the rough counterpoint and density of texture. He now returned to a project he had been working on for several years – the opera The Fiery Angel. In 1928, when he began to think that no opera house would take it up, Prokofiev decided to reuse the music and found that ‘the material unexpectedly packed itself up into a four-movement symphony’ – his Third, characterised by an overwhelming sense of anxiety and tension. The present disc is the fourth and last in a symphony cycle which has earned the Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra and Andrew Litton critical acclaim worldwide.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 20.74
Extra material for download
  Composer: Prokofiev, Sergey
  Symphony No. 1 in D major, Op. 25 14:11
01 I. Allegro 04:19 $ 1.04 USD
02 II. Larghetto 03:56 $ 0.94 USD
03 III. Gavotte. Non troppo allegro 01:36 $ 0.38 USD
04 IV. Finale. Molto vivace 04:20 $ 1.04 USD
  Symphony No. 2 in D minor, Op. 40 36:26
05 I. Allegro ben articulato 12:09 $ 2.92 USD
06 II. Theme and Variations: Theme 01:51 $ 0.44 USD
07 Variation 1 02:08 $ 0.51 USD
08 Variation 2 02:50 $ 0.68 USD
09 Variation 3 02:11 $ 0.52 USD
10 Variation 4 05:25 $ 1.30 USD
11 Variation 5 02:47 $ 0.67 USD
12 Variation 6 and Theme 07:05 $ 1.70 USD
  Symphony No. 3 in C minor, Op. 44 35:49
13 I. Moderato 13:53 $ 3.33 USD
14 II. Andante 07:04 $ 1.70 USD
15 III. Allegro agitato 08:17 $ 1.99 USD
16 IV. Andante mosso - Allegro agitato 06:35 $ 1.58 USD
  Album total 86:33
ComposerProkofiev, Sergey
ConductorLitton, Andrew
OrchestraBergen Philharmonic Orchestra

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News