Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Schnittke & Pärt - Choral Works (2)

Catalogue numberBIS-2521 SACD
Release date2021-06-04
Orig. sample rate96000Hz
Total time60:22

As Alfred Schnittke and Arvo Pärt both adopted the Orthodox faith in the 1970s, Orthodox choral traditions became increasingly prominent in their work, but both composers also looked to the music of the Western church. Schnittke’s Three Sacred Hymns set three prayers, familiar in the West as Ave Maria, the Jesus Prayer and the Lord’s Prayer, and evoke Orthodox chant. His Choir Concerto, on the other hand, draws on Russian choral music of the 19th century and the tradition of large-scale concert works based on Orthodox choral music. The texts by the medieval Armenian poet Gregory of Narek are informed by a humanistic individualism, with the poet directly expressing his emotions and often writing in the first person.

In the case of Pärt, his detailed study of Orthodox chant caused him to develop his so-called ‘tintinnabuli’ system of composition as an extension of the harmonic practices of Orthodox choral music. He wrote his Seven Magnificat-Antiphons in 1988, applying the tintinnabuli technique to texts from the Catholic liturgy in the German language – a striking East-West hybrid. The Estonian Philharmonic Chamber Choir and Kaspars Putninš have combined sacred works by Schnittke and Pärt before, their previous release on BIS earning them a prestigious Gramophone Award in the Choral Music category.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 14.45
Extra material for download
  Composer: Schnittke, Alfred
  Concerto for Choir 39:36
01 1. O Pavelitel’ sushcheva fsevo (O Master of all living) 15:20 $ 3.70 USD
02 2. Sabran’je pesen sikh, gde kazhdyj stikh 07:59 $ 1.94 USD
03 3. Fsem tem, kto vniknet fsushchnast’ 11:33 $ 2.80 USD
04 4. Sej trud, shto natchinal ja supavan’jem 04:44 $ 1.19 USD
  Three Sacred Hymns 06:17
05 1. Bogoroditse Devo, raduisia (Hail Mary, full of Grace) 01:33 $ 0.38 USD
06 2. Gospodi Isuse Khriste (Lord Jesus) 01:19 $ 0.32 USD
07 3. Otche nash (Our Father) 03:25 $ 0.87 USD
  Composer: Pärt, Arvo
  Seven Magnificat-Antiphons 12:56
08 O Weisheit 01:35 $ 0.40 USD
09 O Adonai 01:56 $ 0.48 USD
10 O Spross aus Isais Wurzel (attacca) 00:56 $ 0.23 USD
11 O Schlüssel Davids (attacca) 02:26 $ 0.58 USD
12 O Morgenstern 02:13 $ 0.54 USD
13 O König aller Völker 01:20 $ 0.33 USD
14 O Immanuel 02:30 $ 0.69 USD
  Album total 60:22
ComposerPärt, Arvo
Schnittke, Alfred
ChoirEstonian Philharmonic Chamber Choir
ConductorPutnins, Kaspars

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News