Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Encaenia Musices

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue numberRK 3401D
Release date2015-04-17

A Musical Feast, Encaenia Musices, is the name Romanus Weichlein chose for his Opus 1 collection of twelve sonatas, published in 1695. In its preface Romanus Weichlein states that he composed the pieces ‘for the ear, rather than for the eye’, and that the musicians should feel free to shorten, lengthen and rearrange them as desired. The sonatas are in the style typically found in Austria at the time: freely composed violin and trumpet lines above an ostinato baseline emerging as a virtuosic baroque musical feast. Romanus Weichlein was born into a family of musicians in Linz, given the name Andreas Franz Weichlein. Upon entering the Monastery at Lambach he took up Romanus as his monk’s name. The CD cover of this brilliantly performed recording by capella vitalis berlin presents the family shield of the Abbot Severin Blass, to whom the Weichlein dedicated his Canon on the Posthorn, for four violins. This canon is found today preserved in the monastery on a copperplate, and provides a light interlude and addition to the sonatas of Encaenia Musices.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 18.44
Extra material for download
01 Sonata I 06:49 $ 1.84 USD
02 Sonata III 10:28 $ 2.83 USD
03 Sonata IV 07:23 $ 1.99 USD
04 Duett 01:08 $ 0.31 USD
05 Sonata VI 08:48 $ 2.38 USD
06 Sonata VII 07:12 $ 1.94 USD
07 Duett 00:54 $ 0.24 USD
08 Canon ueber das Post-Hoernl 04:49 $ 1.30 USD
09 Sonata X 07:31 $ 2.03 USD
10 Sonata XI 06:20 $ 1.71 USD
11 Duett 01:05 $ 0.29 USD
12 Sonata XII 05:51 $ 1.58 USD
  Album total 68:18
ComposerRomanus Weichlein
Ensemblecapella vitalis berlin

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News