Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

J.S. Bach - Secular Cantatas, Volume 2

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue numberBIS-1971 SACD
Release date2012-06-01
Orig. sample rate44100Hz
Total time74:40

Compared with J.S. Bach’s production of church music his secular vocal works occupy a modest place in his output: today we know of the existence of some fifty secular cantatas, but only about half of these have survived in performable condition. They were occasional pieces, tailored especially to the situation that engendered them. Unlike the church cantatas they could therefore not be performed again in unaltered form, and were thus of little practical interest for Bach’s heirs. The earliest surviving secular cantata is the ‘Hunt’ Cantata, composed in 1713 in Weimar for the birthday of Duke Christian of Sachsen-Weißenfels. The Duke was a passionate huntsman and Bach’s work was performed during a birthday banquet held at the Prince’s hunting lodge. The libretto includes a modest dramatic plot in which four divinities from ancient mythology appear, and to which Bach’s music adds variety and colour through the use, in various movements, of two hunting horns, a trio of oboes and a pair of recorders. Bach must have valued the work highly: he adjusted it at least twice for performances in honour of other people, and also used ‘parody’ versions of various movements in sacred cantatas. Intended for the 1719 New Year’s celebrations in Köthen, Die Zeit, die Tag und Jahre macht would also be recycled by Bach, who five years later transformed it into a cantata for Easter Sunday. Of a more philosophical cast than its companion piece, the cantata is set as a dialogue between Time (tenor) and Divine Providence (alto), who in the final movement are joined by a chorus wishing ‘glückseligen Zeiten’ (‘joyous times’) to the princely house of Anhalt-Köthen. Bach Collegium Japan and Masaaki Suzuki have previously recorded one disc of secular cantatas (BIS-CD-1411), with the Coffee Cantata and the wedding cantata O Holder Tag, Erwünschte Zeit. With this second volume, the team now picks up the thread of this series which runs parallel to the traversal of the church cantatas.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 15.39
Extra material for download
  Composer: Bach, Johann Sebastian
01 Sinfonia in F major, BWV1046a/1 04:00 $ 0.84 USD
  Was mir behagt, ist nur die muntre Jagd, BWV208 34:31
02 1. Recitativo (Soprano I). Was mir behagt, ist nur die
muntre Jagd!…
00:42 $ 0.15 USD
03 2. Aria (Soprano I). Jagen ist die Lust der Götter… 02:13 $ 0.47 USD
04 3. Recitativo (Tenore). Wie? schönste Göttin? wie?… 01:09 $ 0.24 USD
05 4. Aria (Tenore). Willst du dich nicht mehr ergötzen… 05:47 $ 1.21 USD
06 5. Recitativo (Soprano I, Tenore). Ich liebe dich zwar
02:11 $ 0.46 USD
07 6. Recitativo (Basso). Ich, der ich sonst ein Gott… 00:39 $ 0.14 USD
08 7. Aria (Basso). Ein Fürst ist seines Landes Pan!… 02:56 $ 0.62 USD
09 8. Recitativo (Soprano II). Soll denn der Pales Opfer hier
das letzte sein?…
00:38 $ 0.13 USD
10 9. Aria (Soprano II). Schafe können sicher weiden… 04:27 $ 0.93 USD
11 10. Recitativo (Soprano I). So stimmt mit ein… 00:11 $ 0.04 USD
12 11. Chorus. Lebe, Sonne dieser Erden… 02:39 $ 0.56 USD
13 12. Duetto (Soprano I, Tenore). Entzücket uns beide… 01:57 $ 0.41 USD
14 13. Aria (Soprano II). Weil die wollenreichen Herden… 02:22 $ 0.50 USD
15 14. Aria (Basso). Ihr Felder und Auen… 02:44 $ 0.57 USD
16 15. Chorus. Ihr lieblichste Blicke, ihr freudige Stunden… 03:56 $ 0.83 USD
  Die Zeit, die Tag und Jahre macht, BWV134a 34:46
17 1. Recitativo (Tenore, Alto). Die Zeit, die Tag und Jahre
00:34 $ 0.12 USD
18 2. Aria (Tenore). Auf, Sterbliche, lasset ein Jauchzen
05:54 $ 1.24 USD
19 3. Recitativo (Tenore, Alto). So bald, als dir die Sternen
02:24 $ 0.50 USD
20 4. Aria (Alto, Tenore). Es streiten, es siegen die
künftigen Zeiten…
08:16 $ 1.74 USD
21 5. Recitativo (Alto, Tenore). Bedenke nur, beglücktes
02:57 $ 0.62 USD
22 6. Aria (Alto). Der Zeiten Herr hat viel vergnügte
05:26 $ 1.14 USD
23 7. Recitativo (Tenore, Alto). Hilf, Höchster, hilf… 01:53 $ 0.40 USD
24 8. Chorus. Ergetzet auf Erden… 07:22 $ 1.55 USD
  Album total 74:40
ComposerBach, Johann Sebastian
Johann Sebastian Bach
ConductorMasaaki Suzuki
Suzuki, Masaaki
OrchestraBach Collegium Japan
SopranoLunn, Joanne
TenorSakurada, Makoto
BaritoneRoderick Williams
Williams, Roderick
AltoGuillon, Damien

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News