Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Handel: Music for Queen Caroline

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue numberAF004D
Release date2014-12-01
Orig. sample rate96000Hz

Queen Caroline was an emblematic female figure of the 18th century: the wife of King George II of England, a woman of great beauty, a champion of science and the arts, Caroline d’Ansbach was also the friend and patroness of Handel. The latter was entrusted with the solemn music composed for the grand ceremonies that marked the reign – be it «The King shall rejoice», given for the King’s coronation, the «Queen Caroline» Te Deum written for her own ascension to the throne, or «The Ways of Zion do mourn» performed at her funeral. This recording brings together, for the first time, three works underlining the strong link between the monarch and his favourite composer. This performance by the complete forces of the choir and orchestra of Les Arts Florissants brings to life these scores which are both flamboyant and brimming over with humanity.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 19.48
Extra material for download
  Composer: George Frideric Handel
  The King shall rejoice, Coronation anthem HWV 260 10:43
01 I. The King Shall Rejoice 02:41 $ 0.72 USD
02 II. Exceeding Glad Shall He Be 03:09 $ 0.85 USD
03 III. Glory And Worship Hast Thou Laid Upon Him 02:15 $ 0.61 USD
04 IV. Alleluja 02:38 $ 0.71 USD
  Composer: George Frideric Handel
  Te Deum in D Major "Queen Caroline", HWV 280 15:22
05 I. We Praise thee, O God 02:35 $ 0.70 USD
06 II. The glorious Company of the Apostles 03:19 $ 0.90 USD
07 III. When thou tookest upom thee 04:13 $ 1.14 USD
08 IV. Day by day we magnify you 01:03 $ 0.28 USD
09 V. Vouchsafe O Lord 02:56 $ 0.79 USD
10 VI. O Lord in thee I have trusted 01:16 $ 0.34 USD
  Composer: George Frideric Handel
  The Ways of Zion Do Mourn "Funeral Anthem for Queen Caroline", HWV 264 46:03
11 I. Symphony 02:06 $ 0.57 USD
12 II. The ways of Zion do mourn 06:20 $ 1.71 USD
13 III. How are the mighty fall n 01:39 $ 0.45 USD
14 IV. She put on righteousness 02:54 $ 0.78 USD
15 V. When The Ear Heard Her 04:07 $ 1.11 USD
16 VI. How Are The Migthy Fall’n! (Choeur 2) 00:52 $ 0.23 USD
17 VII. She Deliver’d The Poor That Cried 07:08 $ 1.93 USD
18 VIII. How Are The Migthy Fall’n! (Choeur 3) 00:54 $ 0.24 USD
19 IX. The Righteous Shall Be Had 03:25 $ 0.92 USD
20 X. Their Bodies Are Buried In Peace 05:39 $ 1.53 USD
21 XI. The People Will Tell Of Their Wisdom 02:05 $ 0.56 USD
22 XII. They Shall Receive A Glorious Kingdom 04:03 $ 1.09 USD
23 XIII. The Merciful Goodness Of The Lord 04:51 $ 1.31 USD
  Album total 72:08
ComposerGeorge Frideric Handel
EnsembleLes Arts Florissants
ConductorWilliam Christie
SoloistLisandro Abadie
Sean Clayton
Tim Mead

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News