Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

J.S. Bach - Mass in B minor

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue numberBIS-1701 SACD
Release date2007-09-30
Orig. sample rate44100Hz
Total time107:31

Classics Today 10/10: "This is one of the great versions of Bach's masterpiece"; Music Web International: outstanding; International Record Review: outstanding.

Few recordings have been as eagerly awaited as this: Masaaki Suzuki’s and Bach Collegium Japan’s ongoing cycle of Bach Cantatas has whetted the appetite of music-lovers around the world for the team’s version of the one remaining large-scale Bach work, the Mass in B minor. In March 2007, finally, Suzuki, the BCJ and soloists Carolyn Sampson, Rachel Nicholls, Robin Blaze, Gerd Türk and Peter Kooij joined forces in the Shoin Chapel in Kobe, and the result is now to be released. The credentials of those involved are well known to any one who has been following the Cantata series – of which Volume 36 was recently released – or has read reviews of it. Two quote only two: ‘Throughout this ongoing series I have come to consider the magnificent direction of Masaaki Suzuki to be one of the greatest recording achievements of my lifetime’ (MusicWeb International) and ‘Compelling performances – the sheer polish and technical accomplishment of the music-making immediately hold the ear, and are reinforced by subtle phrasing and a quality of listening among all concerned that allows Bach’s counterpoint to progress with lightness and jaw-dropping clarity’ (Classic FM Magazine). Who could then be better suited to take on the challenges of this great, not to say legendary, work? As described in Bach scholar Klaus Hofmann’s informative liner notes, the B minor Mass ‘is music of tenderness as well as heroism, devout fervour as well as doctrinal strictness, the most profound grief as well as unbounded joy – music which, for all its timeless greatness, is profoundly human. In his last great work, Bach summoned all of his artistry and took his place among the great Western composers who have lent enduring musical form to the essential words of Christian culture, from Guillaume de Machaut – four centuries before Bach – to the Missa solemnis of Ludwig van Beethoven, a lifetime after him.’
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 21.89
Extra material for download
Disc 1
  Composer: Bach, Johann Sebastian
  Mass in B minor, BWV232 104:15
01 I. Kyrie: Kyrie eleison 10:33 $ 2.22 USD
02 II. Kyrie: Christe eleison 04:47 $ 1.00 USD
03 III. Kyrie: Kyrie eleison (II) 03:09 $ 0.66 USD
04 IV. Gloria: Gloria in excelsis Deo 01:40 $ 0.35 USD
05 V. Gloria: Et in terra pax 04:50 $ 1.02 USD
06 VI. Gloria: Laudamus te 04:00 $ 0.84 USD
07 VII. Gloria: Gratias agimus tibi 03:08 $ 0.66 USD
08 VIII. Gloria: Domine Deus 03:03 $ 0.64 USD
09 IX. Gloria: Qui tollis peccata mundi 03:03 $ 0.64 USD
10 X. Gloria: Qui sedes ad dextram Patris 04:22 $ 0.92 USD
11 XI. Gloria: Quoniam tu solus sanctus 04:18 $ 0.90 USD
12 XII. Gloria: Cum Sancto Spiritu 03:53 $ 0.82 USD
Disc 2
01 XIII. Credo: Credo in unum Deum 01:46 $ 0.37 USD
02 XIV. Credo: Patrem omnipotentem 01:53 $ 0.40 USD
03 XV. Credo: Et in unum Dominum 04:18 $ 0.90 USD
04 XVI. Credo: Et incarnatus est 03:36 $ 0.76 USD
05 XVII. Credo: Crucifixus 03:16 $ 0.69 USD
06 XVIII. Credo: Et resurrexit 03:51 $ 0.81 USD
07 XIX. Credo: Et in Spiritum sanctum 04:48 $ 1.01 USD
08 XX. Credo: Confiteor unum baptisma 03:55 $ 0.82 USD
09 XXI. Credo: Et exspecto 02:02 $ 0.43 USD
10 XXII. Sanctus 05:58 $ 1.25 USD
11 XXIII. Osanna in excelsis 02:34 $ 0.54 USD
12 XXIV. Benedictus 04:03 $ 0.85 USD
13 XXV. Osanna in excelsis 02:36 $ 0.55 USD
14 XXVI. Agnus Dei 05:15 $ 1.10 USD
15 XXVII. Dona nobis pacem 03:38 $ 0.76 USD
  Album total 107:31
Choir & orchestraBach Collegium Japan
ComposerBach, Johann Sebastian
ConductorSuzuki, Masaaki
SopranoNicholls, Rachel
Sampson, Carolyn
TenorTurk (Türk), Gerd
AltoBlaze, Robin
BassKooij, Peter

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News