Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Beethoven - Works for Guitar and Piano

Catalogue numberBIS-2505 SACD
Release date2020-07-03
Orig. sample rate96000Hz
Total time74:40

Around 1800 Vienna was, alongside Paris, one of the European centres for guitar performance. The instrument was well suited for the idiom of Viennese classicism and ideal for domestic music-making and it was promoted by figures such as the virtuoso Mauro Giuliani and the composer/publisher Anton Diabelli. But Beethoven, the towering giant of musical Vienna, seems to have been unmoved by the charms of the guitar – while instead composing for its sibling, the mandolin.

Duo Halász, the husband and wife team of Franz and Débora Halász, has now rectified this, by appropriating Beethoven’s four extant pieces for mandolin and piano (WoO 43 and 44) as well as adapting some other early compositions, including the Serenade in D major for flute and piano and the Variations on Mozart’s ‘Se vuol ballare’ for violin and piano. In doing so they follow the example of an eminent guitarist and contemporary of Beethoven, namely Ferdinando Carulli, whose 1825 arrangement of the Variations on Mozart’s ‘Ein Mädchen oder Weibchen’ closes the programme. Franz and Débora Halász have made a number of recordings for BIS, together and separately, to critical acclaim, including a Latin Grammy Award for their disc Alma Brasileira with chamber works by Radamés Gnattali.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 8.75
Extra material for download
  Composer: Beethoven, Ludwig van
  Serenade in D major, Op. 41 (orig. for flute and piano) 21:01
01 I. Entrata. Allegro 03:11 $ 0.38 USD
02 II. Tempo ordinario d’un Menuetto 04:46 $ 0.57 USD
03 III. Allegro molto 01:58 $ 0.24 USD
04 IV. Andante con Variazioni 04:51 $ 0.58 USD
05 V. Allegro scherzando e vivace 01:50 $ 0.22 USD
06 VI. Adagio 00:52 $ 0.10 USD
07 VII. Allegro vivace e disinvolto 03:33 $ 0.43 USD
08 Sonatina in C minor, WoO 43a (orig. for mandolin & piano) 03:45 $ 0.45 USD
09 12 Variations in F major on ‘Se vuol ballare’, WoO 40
(orig. for violin & piano)
10:12 $ 1.22 USD
10 Sonatina in C major, WoO 44a (orig. for mandolin & piano) 02:11 $ 0.26 USD
11 Adagio ma non troppo in E flat major, WoO 43b (orig. for
mandolin & piano)
03:39 $ 0.44 USD
12 Andante con Variazioni in D major, WoO 44b (orig. for
mandolin & piano)
07:28 $ 0.90 USD
  Pieces originally for mechanical clock 17:12
13 Adagio in F major, WoO 33a 04:12 $ 0.50 USD
14 Allegro non più molto in C major, WoO 33b 04:40 $ 0.56 USD
15 Scherzo. Allegro in G major, WoO 33a 01:35 $ 0.19 USD
16 Allegretto in C major, WoO 33b 04:58 $ 0.60 USD
17 Allegro in G major, WoO 33a 01:47 $ 0.21 USD
18 12 Variations in F major on ‘Ein Mädchen oder Weibchen’
Op.66 (arr. Carulli 1825)
07:27 $ 0.89 USD
  Album total 74:40
ComposerBeethoven, Ludwig van
GuitarHalász, Franz
PianoHalász, Débora

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News