Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Kalevi Aho - Chamber Music

Catalogue numberBIS-2186 SACD
Release date2020-05-01
Orig. sample rate96000Hz
Total time80:43

Internationally acclaimed for his music for orchestra (17 symphonies and 31 concertos to date), Kalevi Aho has also composed chamber and solo works. The present disc combines six such pieces, ranging across the composer’s career. The earliest work on the disc is the Bach-inspired Sonata for solo violin from 1973, reminding us that during his years at the Sibelius Aacademy (1968 – 71), Aho studied the violin as well as composition. Another early piece, Prelude, Toccata and Postlude, also started out as a solo work – this time for the cello – before developing into a duo. From the other end, chronologically speaking, is the ample Piano Sonata No. 2 from 2016, with a duration of some 25 minutes. This time it is Beethoven who has provided inspiration, and the composer describes the work as ‘a commentary on the Hammerklavier Sonata, in which Beethoven’s motifs are frequently “misquoted” and developed in a different direction.’

The sonata closes the programme but not before giving us an opportunity to hear three further works involving the violin – a second solo piece, In memoriam Pehr Henrik Nordgren, written in memory of Aho’s fellow composer and friend, Lamento for two violins and Halla (‘frost’) for violin and piano. Performing these works are four highly respected Finnish musicians, the violinists (and brothers) Jaakko and Pekka Kuusisto, Samuli Peltonen (cello) and Sonja Fräki, pianist and Aho specialist.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 19.35
Extra material for download
  Composer: Aho, Kalevi
  Prelude, Toccata and Postlude, for cello and piano 09:35
01 Prelude 03:20 $ 0.80 USD
02 Toccata 03:07 $ 0.75 USD
03 Postlude 03:08 $ 0.78 USD
04 Lamento, for two violins 04:36 $ 1.15 USD
05 Halla, for violin and piano  07:40 $ 1.87 USD
  Sonata for Solo Violin 20:56
06 Tempo di ciacona - Più mosso - Prestissimo 08:30 $ 2.04 USD
07 Andante 03:50 $ 0.92 USD
08 Grandioso - Coda 08:36 $ 2.10 USD
09 In memoriam Pehr Henrik Nordgren, for solo violin 10:09 $ 2.48 USD
  Piano Sonata No. 2 26:27
10 I. Allegro - Presto - Allegro molto 09:04 $ 2.18 USD
11 II. Tranquillo 05:01 $ 1.20 USD
12 III. Allegro molto 04:33 $ 1.09 USD
13 IV. Campane 02:55 $ 0.70 USD
14 V. Allegro 04:54 $ 1.28 USD
  Album total 80:43
CelloPeltonen, Samuli
PianoFraki, Sonja
ComposerAho, Kalevi
ViolinKuusisto, Jaakko
Kuusisto, Pekka

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News