Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Schubert + Krenek

Catalogue numberBIS-2690 SACD
Release date2024-05-10
Orig. sample rate96000 Hz

24 FLAC Discount

Schubert+ Series

In his series titled Schubert+, pianist Can Çakmur skillfully blends the complete major piano solo works of the Viennese composer with pieces by those inspired by him, offering a fresh perspective on these compositions. This series forms a comprehensive collection of Schubert’s major completed piano pieces, with each disc crafted as an independent recital.

Third Installment

The third installment features not only a work by 20th-century composer Ernst Krenek but also Krenek's completion of a Schubert sonata that was left unfinished. Krenek's deep understanding of Schubert's style is evident, making it hard to distinguish between the compositions of the two composers. As Çakmur remarks, "It would be challenging to discern where Schubert ends and Krenek begins without indications in the score." Krenek, a versatile and prolific composer, spanned a career over seven decades. His Second Piano Sonata, composed in the 1920s, is a tribute to Schubert, incorporating some of his techniques while drawing more heavily from early 20th-century Paris than from 19th-century Vienna. This intriguing and underappreciated piece is reintroduced through Schubert’s lens.

    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 10.18
Extra material for download
  Piano Sonata No. 2 op. 59 17:08
01 I. Allegretto 06:56 $ 1.04 USD
02 II. Alla marcia, energico 06:03 $ 0.91 USD
03 III. Allegro giocoso 04:09 $ 0.62 USD
04 Ungarische Melodie 03:17 $ 0.49 USD
05 Allegretto in C Minor 05:28 $ 0.82 USD
  Piano Sonata in C Major, D 849 41:57
06 I. Moderato 13:21 $ 2.00 USD
07 II. Andante 09:28 $ 1.42 USD
08 III.Menuetto. Allegretto - Trio 06:50 $ 1.03 USD
09 IV. Rondo. Allegro 12:18 $ 1.85 USD
  Album total 67:50
Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News