Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Granados – Goyescas

Catalogue numberBIS-2122 SACD
Release date2015-12-10
Orig. sample rate96000Hz
Total time77:09

Enrique Granados is today best remembered for his Goyescas suite for solo piano, inspired by the art and times of Francisco de Goya. Granados first came under the spell of Goya in 1896 while viewing an exhibition of his works. In particular, the bohemian characters of the majo and maja that had captivated Goya came to dominate the highly romanticized image of old Madrid embraced by Granados. Although the inspiration from Goya is readily acknowledged it is only two of the six pieces that make up Goyescas that can be related to specific works by the painter: No.1 Los requiebros (The Flirtations) and No.5 El amor y la muerte (Love and Death) were both inspired by etchings from the celebrated series of Caprichos. Another image by Goya, of four young girls playing with a life-sized puppet made of straw, formed the inspiration for El pelele (The straw man), which Granados composed after the suite and gave the subtitle ‘escena goyesca’. Performing these wonderfully sensuous works is the Dutch pianist Joop Celis, who here makes his first appearance on BIS, but who has earned plaudits for previous recordings, for instance in International Record Reviewer: ‘He dispatches the heroic and virtuosic with ease, yet his playing displays a great sensitivity to the more romantic side…’ On his ample recording, Celis also includes Granados’s collection of seven ‘Poetic scenes’ as well as the brief Intermezzo which Granados composed for his opera Goyescas, a work in one act otherwise based on the music from the suite for piano. The opera was premièred in New York in 1916, and it was on his journey home to Spain that Granados died, when the ship he was travelling on was torpedoed in the English Channel.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 18.04
Extra material for download
  Composer: Granados, Enrique
  Goyescas. Los majos enamorados 50:09
01 I. Los requiebros 08:31 $ 2.04 USD
02 II. Coloquio en la reja 10:00 $ 2.40 USD
03 III. El fandango de candil 06:17 $ 1.51 USD
04 IV. Quejas o La maja y el ruiseñor 06:03 $ 1.45 USD
05 V. El amor y la muerte 11:43 $ 2.81 USD
06 VI. Epílogo (Serenata del espectro) 07:35 $ 1.82 USD
  Escenas poéticas - Primera serie 07:09
07 I. Berceuse 03:27 $ 0.83 USD
08 II. Eva y Walter 02:18 $ 0.55 USD
09 III. Danza de la rosa 01:24 $ 0.34 USD
  Escenas poéticas - Segunda serie 09:40
10 I. Recuerdo de países lejanos 01:45 $ 0.42 USD
11 II. El ángel de los claustros 03:12 $ 0.77 USD
12 III. Canción de Margarita 01:47 $ 0.43 USD
13 IV. Sueños del poeta 02:56 $ 0.70 USD
14 Intermezzo de la Ópera Goyescas 03:53 $ 0.93 USD
15 El pelele (Escena goyesca) 04:18 $ 1.03 USD
  Album total 77:09
ComposerGranados, Enrique
PianoCelis, Joop

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News