Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Henselt & Bronsart Piano Concertos

Catalogue numberBIS-2715 SACD
Release date2024-05-31
Orig. sample rate192000 Hz

24 FLAC Discount

After three solo recordings, virtuoso pianist Paul Wee brings us two forgotten concertos from the Romantic period with the Swedish Chamber Orchestra, conducted by Michael Collins. Premiered by Clara Schumann under the baton of Felix Mendelssohn, Adolph von Henselt’s Concerto in F minor was once performed by the greatest virtuosos of the 19th and 20th centuries. However, it has inexplicably disappeared from the repertoire despite its obvious qualities: soaring melodies and tender lyricism, colorful orchestration, dramatic intensity across its three movements, and piano writing of astounding inventiveness and brilliance. The similarities between Henselt’s concerto and some of Sergei Rachmaninov’s works can be explained by the profound influence the German composer had on the Russian.

Hans von Bronsart’s Concerto in F sharp minor did not enjoy the same public acclaim, although it is rousing, intimate, and electrifying in turns. The richness of its orchestration is matched by an uncommonly brilliant piano part that exemplifies practical virtuosity. Breathing late-Romanticism, it requires a soloist to embrace its superheated Romantic language unashamedly if its passions are to take flight.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 8.92
Extra material for download
  Henselt - Piano Concerto in F minor, Op. 16 30:03
01 I. Allegro patetico - Religioso - Reprise 13:58 $ 2.10 USD
02 II. Larghetto 08:06 $ 1.22 USD
03 III. Allegro agitato 07:59 $ 1.20 USD
  Bronsart - Piano Concerto in F sharp minor, Op. 10 29:23
04 I. Allegro maestoso 14:47 $ 2.22 USD
05 II. Adagio ma non troppo 07:05 $ 1.06 USD
06 III. Allegro con fuoco 07:31 $ 1.13 USD
  Album total 59:26
Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News