Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Igor Stravinsky: Symphonies Vol.1

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue numberBIS-2441 SACD
Release date2024-06-28
Orig. sample rate96000 Hz

24 FLAC Discount

Igor Stravinsky is not a composer who is usually associated with symphonic form. Five of his compositions bear that name, however, even though they have little in common.

The first major work Stravinsky composed entirely in the United States, the Symphony in Three Movements seems to pick up where the Rite of Spring left off with its rhythmic ostinatos and shock effects. It can be interpreted as the composer’s response to the Second World War, which was ravaging Europe at the time of its composition, and its striking and triumphant conclusion appears to echo of what the composer must have felt. The Symphonies of Wind Instruments, a short, compact work, was a tribute to Stravinsky’s friend and colleague Claude Debussy. Although its kaleidoscopic formal conception disconcerted audiences at its première, it is now considered to be one of Stravinsky’s finest works, showing daring originality. The Symphony in C was composed on two continents during a difficult period for the composer, though this is in no way betyrayed by its simplicity, good humour and ‘classicism’.

With this disc, the Orquesta Sinfónica de Galicia and Dima Slobodeniouk present a fascinating aspect of the multifaceted output of a composer whose style was constantly evolving.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 9.32
Extra material for download
  Stravinsky: Symphony in Three Movements 22:34
01 I. Quarter Note = 160 10:11 $ 1.53 USD
02 II. Andante - Interlude. L’istesso tempo 06:02 $ 0.91 USD
03 III. Con moto 06:21 $ 0.95 USD
  Stravinsky: Symphonies of Wind Instruments (Original version)
04 Symphonies of Wind Instruments 09:21 $ 1.40 USD
  Stravinsky: Symphony in C 30:11
05 I. Moderato alla breve 10:32 $ 1.58 USD
06 II. Larghetto concertante 06:39 $ 1.00 USD
07 III. Allegretto 05:06 $ 0.77 USD
08 IV. Largo - Tempo giusto, alla breve 07:54 $ 1.19 USD
  Album total 62:06
Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News