Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Kenneth Hesketh – Horae (pro clara)

Catalogue numberBIS-2193 SACD
Release date2016-04-10
Orig. sample rate96000Hz
Total time66:37

Following up on Etude and Reflections, her recent, highly acclaimed releases on BIS, Clare Hammond performs music by her compatriot, the British composer Kenneth Hesketh (b.1968). Hesketh's stimuli are broad and include classical architecture, medieval iconography, poetry and Bauhaus constructivism; in her liner notes, Clare Hammond describes his works for the piano as 'music of phenomenal depth in which there is always something new to discover, something to surprise even the most jaded ear.' The centrepiece of the disc is Horae (pro clara), composed for Clare Hammond: a 40-minute cycle in twelve parts which together form a breviary or miniature book of hours. None of the movements are titled, but many are provided with evocative performance directions, such as ‘as fleet as the tiniest humming bird' and ‘impishly sardonic’. Some also incorporate literary references, such as a quote from 1 Corinthians in the twelfth: ‘for now we see through a glass, darkly’. Each piece explores various compositional ideas, and thematic material is shared across the set. The three shorter works that frame Horae are all earlier works, two of them having their origins in music composed for other forces. Notte Oscura was written in 2002 and is essentially a piano transcription of music from Hesketh’s opera The Overcoat, after Nikolai Gogol's short story. Composed in the same year, Three Japanese Miniatures develops material from another stage project, a puppet ballet based on Japanese folk tales entitled The Record of Ancient Matters. The work that opens the disc, Through Magic Casements from 2008, takes its title from another literary source: Keats’ poem Ode to a Nightingale. Many of the sonic effects seem to echo imagery in the poem, and the music evaporates at the end, as in Keats’ poem: ‘Fled is that music: – do I wake or sleep?’
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 15.65
Extra material for download
  Composer: Hesketh, Kenneth
01 Through magic casements 04:39 $ 1.12 USD
  Horae (pro clara) (Breviary for Clare) 41:40
02 I: Trasparente (diaphanous) 03:00 $ 0.72 USD
03 II: Velocissima assai (as fleet as the tiniest humming bird) 03:22 $ 0.81 USD
04 III: Semplice 03:14 $ 0.78 USD
05 IV: Agilmente (maniaco ed instabile – with never-ceasing
02:44 $ 0.66 USD
06 V: Diretto, ancora fluido (like the splash and suspension of
water droplets)
03:02 $ 0.73 USD
07 VI: Nervoso, ma dolce (flessibile) 03:29 $ 0.84 USD
08 VII: Capriccioso 02:42 $ 0.65 USD
09 VIII: Ritmico (giusto) (like intertwining chime clocks)
04:24 $ 1.06 USD
10 IX: Capriccioso (impishly sardonic) 02:59 $ 0.72 USD
11 X: Scorrevole (ma meccanico) (like an ‘evening full of the
linnet’s wings’)
03:44 $ 0.90 USD
12 XI: Indolente (…lapping, with low sounds) 03:00 $ 0.72 USD
13 XII: Molto misterioso, desolate (‘for now we see through a
glass, darkly’ )
06:00 $ 1.44 USD
14 Notte Oscura 06:48 $ 1.63 USD
  Three Japanese Miniatures 12:06
15 I. Temple Music 03:38 $ 0.87 USD
16 II. The Cradle Rocks 04:49 $ 1.16 USD
17 III. Little Bumbuku 03:39 $ 0.88 USD
  Album total 66:37
ComposerHesketh, Kenneth
PianoHammond, Clare

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News