Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Reflections: the solo piano works of Andrzej and Roxanna Panufnik

Catalogue numberBIS-2003 SACD
Release date2014-05-01
Orig. sample rate96000Hz
Total time71:29

Critic’s Choice 2014, Gramophone
5 diapasons, Diapason

“Clare Hammond proves to be a very fine advocate of this music. Her interpretations match the goal of the composer: Not only are they well thought out and intellectually stimulating, but also energetic, emotionally moving, and full of a whole spectrum of colors – in a word, bracing. … Buy it. You’ll enjoy it for years to come.” Fanfare

Andrzej Panufnik (1914-1991) once wrote ‘Music gets its eternal beauty from an ideal balance of emotion and intellect.’ Although Panufnik is primarily known as a composer of symphonies and large-scale orchestral pieces, his three original works for solo piano perfectly illustrate this credo. Spread out over almost four decades, they are all highly crafted, demonstrating the composer’s fascination with mirror forms and symmetrical patterns. In Panufnik’s music such workman-like, not to say cerebral, concerns never become a self-indulgence, however – although ordered according to the circle of fifths and following a strict scheme in terms of dynamics and articulation, each of the Twelve Miniature Studies from 1947 has its own highly individual mood and expression, and although the 1984 Pentasonata in almost every aspect – metre, tonality and overall structure – is governed by the number five, the composer fully succeeds in his stated aim: ‘to achieve a balance between heart and mind, intellect and emotion’. The young British pianist Clare Hammond is greatly involved in events for the Panufnik Centenary in 2014, and has devised the present disc as her first release on BIS. For it, she has chosen to include two works that might be described as ‘posthumous collaborations’ between the composer and his daughter Roxanna Panufnik, herself an acclaimed composer. Modlitwa (‘Prayer’), originally a vocal piece, was one of Panufnik’s last compositions, which Roxanna expanded in 1999, and later has made instrumental arrangements of, the most recent one being for piano. Hommage à Chopin consists of arrangements for solo piano made in 2013 of three of the five vocalises for soprano and piano that Panufnik composed in 1949, based on folk music from the region of Mazowia, where Chopin was born. Polish folk music also appears in Roxanna Panufnik’s Second Home, which expresses her sentiments for her father’s Polish homeland. Second Home is complemented on this disc by another composition by Roxanna Panufnik, the brief and atmospheric Glo.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 16.70
Extra material for download
  Composer: Panufnik, Andrzej
  Twelve Miniature Studies (1947, rev. 1955/64) 19:44
01 I. Sempre fortissimo e molto veloce 01:00 $ 0.24 USD
02 II. Sempre pianissimo e molto legato 02:48 $ 0.67 USD
03 III. Sempre fortissimo e molto marcato 00:54 $ 0.22 USD
04 IV. Sempre pianissimo e molto tranquillo 02:08 $ 0.51 USD
05 V. Sempre fortissimo e molto agitato 01:06 $ 0.26 USD
06 VI. Sempre pianissimo e molto cantabile 02:39 $ 0.64 USD
07 VII. Sempre fortissimo, senza pedale e molto secco 01:13 $ 0.29 USD
08 VIII. Sempre pianissimo, con pedale e molto espressivo 02:30 $ 0.60 USD
09 IX. Sempre fortissimo e molto appassionato 00:33 $ 0.13 USD
10 X. Sempre pianissimo e molto dolce 02:56 $ 0.70 USD
11 XI. Sempre fortissimo e molto veloce 00:51 $ 0.20 USD
12 XII. Pianissimo e crescendo poco a poco il fortissimo 01:06 $ 0.26 USD
  Composer: Panufnik, Andrzej
  Hommage à Chopin (1949, rev. 1955) 09:23
13 No.1. Andante 02:41 $ 0.64 USD
14 No.4. Vivo 02:43 $ 0.65 USD
15 No.5. Andante 03:59 $ 0.96 USD
  Composer: Panufnik, Andrzej
16 Pentasonata (1984) 12:57 $ 3.11 USD
  Composer: Panufnik, Andrzej, Panufnik, Roxanna
17 Modlitwa (‘Prayer’) (1990/99) 05:30 $ 1.32 USD
  Composer: Panufnik, Roxanna
18 Second Home (2003, rev. 2006) 09:26 $ 2.26 USD
  Composer: Panufnik, Roxanna
19 Glo (2002) 01:35 $ 0.38 USD
  Composer: Panufnik, Andrzej
20 Reflections (1968) 11:00 $ 2.64 USD
  Album total 71:29
ComposerPanufnik, Andrzej
Panufnik, Roxanna
PianoHammond, Clare
ArrangerPanufnik, Roxanna

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News