Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Rock that Flute

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue numberBIS-2145 SACD
Release date2015-10-10
Orig. sample rate96000Hz
Total time57:43

Originally conceived by the maker Adriana Breukink in 2008, the 'Eagle' recorder has rapidly developed into an instrument which combines a large sound with a wide range – making it ideal for playing with modern instruments. When the Swedish recorder virtuoso Dan Laurin first encountered it, he was fascinated but also puzzled. What kind of music could he play on this instrument? Coming into contact with the Dutch composer Chiel Meijering he soon found out: Meijering – who had started to write for the recorder as early as 1979 – had developed a passion for the new model and was composing Eagle concertos with string accompaniment at a rapid pace (to date his extensive work list numbers 46 such pieces). In fact, if there was a problem with repertoire for the Eagle, it was what to choose… As their correspondence developed, Laurin was struck by the very personal language in the compositions that he kept receiving from the composer. Dividing his own music into four cate­gories – 'dreamy / nostalgic / rocking / (heavy) metal' – Meijering told him that the roots he had always had in pop music had gradually become more and more important. Soon thoughts of making a recording emerged, and took definite shape when the third, vital piece of the puzzle was found: the fresh, young string ensemble 1B1 from Stavanger in Norway, and its founder, the dynamic violinist Jan Bjøranger. Their collaboration has borne fruit in this disc with fifteen individual movements (from thirteen concertos), selected by the performers and the composer during the recording sessions.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 13.70
Extra material for download
  Composer: Meijering, Chiel
01 Soprano’s Lament (part 1) 03:40 $ 0.88 USD
02 The Pied Piper (part 4) 04:15 $ 1.02 USD
03 The Mask Painted White (part 1) 02:46 $ 0.66 USD
04 Morning Mist in Bergen (part 1) 03:11 $ 0.76 USD
05 Blom (part 1) 02:19 $ 0.56 USD
06 Now! (part 3) 04:47 $ 1.15 USD
07 In the Happiest, the Darkest (part 3) 04:51 $ 1.16 USD
08 Rock That Flute (part 3) 02:32 $ 0.61 USD
09 Now! (part 2) 03:20 $ 0.80 USD
10 Sweet and Crazy (part 2) 02:53 $ 0.69 USD
11 The Pied Piper (part 3) 03:23 $ 0.81 USD
12 Salute (part 2) 02:50 $ 0.68 USD
13 Angels’ Gaze (part 1) 05:14 $ 1.26 USD
14 Pentatonic Insomnia (part 3) 07:14 $ 1.74 USD
15 Eagles Commonly Fly Alone (part 1) 03:50 $ 0.92 USD
  Album total 57:43
ComposerMeijering, Chiel
ConductorBjøranger, Jan
Ensemble1B1 (Ensemble Bjergsted 1)
RecorderLaurin, Dan

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News