Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Schubert – Schwanengesang

Catalogue numberBIS-2180 SACD
Release date2016-03-10
Orig. sample rate96000Hz
Total time69:48

Compared to Franz Schubert's two 'true' song cycles, Die schöne Müllerin and Winterreise, Schwanengesang poses far more questions – to performers, listeners and musicologists alike. It is in fact a compilation of two different sets of songs, to texts by Ludwig Rellstab (seven songs) and Heinrich Heine (six). In his manuscript, dated 'August 1828’, Schubert wrote out the songs without any title page or numbering. Following the composer's death three months later, the publisher Tobias Haslinger added the single song Die Taubenpost, written in October 1828, and brought out the posthumous collection entitled, appropriately, 'Swan Song'. How, or indeed if, Schubert himself intended to combine these songs, we do not know – and rather than a cycle developing a single narrative thread or state of mind, they form a series of masterful snapshots of all that life can offer. (The four miscellaneous songs which close this programme serve as a further demonstration of the astonishing versatility of their maker and his boundless musical resourcefulness.) As a result performances of Schwanengesang usually vary, with certain songs left out, unrelated songs being included, and the order of the songs adapted according to the occasion. During the 15 years that they have collaborated on these songs, James Rutherford and Eugene Asti, have done all of the above, but for their recording of the collection they have decided to stay as close to the original as possible, with the exception of including Herbst, another Rellstab setting from Schubert's final year. Schubert's manuscript is written for high voice, and Rutherford and Asti has chosen to transpose each song down a minor third – a seemingly obvious decision, but in fact this recording is one of the few, if not the only, by a baritone in which the original tonal relationships between the songs is retained.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 16.06
Extra material for download
  Composer: Schubert, Franz
  Schwanengesang 55:32
01 Liebesbotschaft 02:40 $ 0.64 USD
02 Kriegers Ahnung 04:52 $ 1.17 USD
03 Frühlingssehnsucht 03:26 $ 0.82 USD
04 Ständchen 03:51 $ 0.92 USD
05 Aufenthalt 03:07 $ 0.75 USD
06 Herbst 03:19 $ 0.80 USD
07 In der Ferne 06:01 $ 1.44 USD
08 Abschied 04:30 $ 1.08 USD
09 Der Atlas 02:33 $ 0.61 USD
10 Ihr Bild 02:33 $ 0.61 USD
11 Das Fischermädchen 02:07 $ 0.51 USD
12 Die Stadt 03:18 $ 0.79 USD
13 Am Meer 04:38 $ 1.11 USD
14 Der Doppelgänger 04:41 $ 1.12 USD
15 Die Taubenpost 03:56 $ 0.94 USD
16 Die Forelle 02:01 $ 0.48 USD
17 Auf der Bruck 03:34 $ 0.86 USD
18 Gruppe aus dem Tartarus 03:07 $ 0.75 USD
19 An die Musik 02:42 $ 0.65 USD
  Album total 69:48
ComposerSchubert, Franz
PianoAsti, Eugene
BaritoneRutherford, James

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News