Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Stravinsky – Pulcinella Suite

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue numberBIS-2211 SACD
Release date2016-04-10
Orig. sample rate96000Hz
Total time64:55

Masaaki Suzuki is firmly established as a leading authority on the works of Bach, both in his capacity as director of the Bach Collegium Japan and as an organist and harpsichordist. In recent years he has also been appearing in front of eminent orchestras worldwide, however, conducting repertoire as diverse as Britten, Fauré or Mahler. For his first recording of 20th century repertoire, Suzuki has chosen to collaborate with the acclaimed Tapiola Sinfonietta in an all-Stravinsky programme. The disc begins with the music for Pulcinella – here in the concert suite devised by the composer – which Stravinsky later described as ‘the epiphany through which the whole of my later work became possible’. Pulcinella was commissioned in 1919 by the Ballets Russes, for which Stravinsky had already written The Firebird, Petrushka and The Rite of Spring. For this adaptation of an early eighteenth-century commedia dell'arte libretto, he based his score on existing music, initially ascribed to Pergolesi although material by other baroque composers is also included. Stravinsky’s approach is never that of a faithful transcriber, however: in Pulcinella the material is slanted harmonically, rhythmically and texturally in a manner reminiscent of cubism – and it was indeed Picasso who provided the decor and costumes for the ballet's first performance. The neoclassical (or neobaroque) spirit remained a vital part of Stravinsky’s compositional armoury for a long time, and also informs the other two works presented here. The formal design of Concerto in D, composed some 25 years after Pulcinella, pays homage to the baroque concerti grossi of Vivaldi and Bach, while the score for the ballet Apollon musagète (also known as Apollo) contains references to French music from the 17th- and 18th-century – but there are also echoes of Tchaikovskian lushness in the work which is richly scored for a string orchestra which is often subdivided, and with many distinctions between solo and tutti lines.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 15.31
Extra material for download
  Composer: Stravinsky, Igor
  Pulcinella Suite (1924, rev. 1949) 21:39
01 I. Sinfonia (Overture ) 01:56 $ 0.46 USD
02 II. Serenata 02:49 $ 0.68 USD
03 III. a) Scherzino · b) Allegro · c) Andantino 04:19 $ 1.04 USD
04 IV. Tarantella 02:00 $ 0.48 USD
05 V. Toccata 00:56 $ 0.22 USD
06 VI. Gavotta (con due variazioni) 03:50 $ 0.92 USD
07 VII. Vivo 01:29 $ 0.36 USD
08 VIII. Minuetto 02:22 $ 0.57 USD
09 IX. Finale 01:58 $ 0.47 USD
  Apollon musagète (1928, rev. 1947) 29:40
10 Naissance d’Apollon 04:54 $ 1.18 USD
11 Variation d’Apollon (Apollon et les Muses) 03:01 $ 0.72 USD
12 Pas d’action (Apollon et les trois Muses: Calliope,
Polymnie et Terpsichore)
04:24 $ 1.06 USD
13 Variation de Calliope (l’Alexandrin) 01:30 $ 0.36 USD
14 Variation de Polymnie 01:22 $ 0.33 USD
15 Variation Terpsichore 01:43 $ 0.41 USD
16 Variation d’Apollon 02:21 $ 0.56 USD
17 Pas de deux (Apollon et Terpsichore) 03:48 $ 0.91 USD
18 Coda (Apollon et les Muses) 03:23 $ 0.81 USD
19 Apothéose 03:14 $ 0.78 USD
  Concerto in D for string orchestra (1946) 12:28
20 I. Vivace 05:48 $ 1.39 USD
21 II. Arioso. Andantino 02:58 $ 0.71 USD
22 III. Rondo. Allegro 03:42 $ 0.89 USD
  Album total 64:55
ComposerStravinsky, Igor
ConductorSuzuki, Masaaki
OrchestraTapiola Sinfonietta

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News