Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Tchaikovsky & Babajanian - Piano Trios

Catalogue numberBIS-2372 SACD
Release date2019-10-04
Orig. sample rate96000Hz
Total time73:21

In Russian chamber music, a rather special tradition evolved around the piano trio, with a number of composers turning to the genre to write ‘instrumental requiems’. First out was Tchaikovsky with his Piano Trio in A minor, Op. 50, ‘à la mémoire d’un grand artiste’, and he was followed by composers such as Rachmaninov, Arensky and Shostakovich. In the case of Tchaikovsky’s trio, the ‘grand artiste’ was the pianist Nikolai Rubinstein, and Tchaikovsky chose the trio genre as he felt that a piece for solo piano would be too lightweight and one with orchestral accompaniment would be too showy. The work is in two movements, a Pezzo elegiaco (‘elegiac piece’) and a set of variations, and it begins with the cello playing a moving lament which sets the tone for the entire first movement. The theme returns at the end of the second movement in the form of an impassioned funeral march.

Seventy years later, when the Armenian composer and pianist Arno Babajanian (1921—83) wrote his Piano Trio in F sharp minor, he didn’t give it any subtitle, but there’s a grandeur and breadth of scale which rivals Tchaikovsky’s work – and the second movement is thoroughly elegiac in character. The trio is Babajanian’s best-known work, composed in the Romantic style of Rachmaninov, but also rooted in Armenian folk music, melodically as well as rhythmically. Performing the two works are Vadim Gluzman and Yevgeny Sudbin, both with Russian roots, joined by cellist Johannes Moser, and the three close the disc with Sudbin’s arrangement of a brief Tango by Alfred Schnittke.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 17.57
Extra material for download
  Composer: Tchaikovksy, Peter Ilyich
  Piano Trio in A minor, Op. 50 48:40
01 I. Pezzo elegiaco 17:57 $ 4.31 USD
02 II. A. Tema con variazioni: Tema. Andante con moto 01:04 $ 0.26 USD
03 Variation I 00:55 $ 0.22 USD
04 Variation II. Più mosso 00:35 $ 0.14 USD
05 Variation III. Allegro moderato 00:58 $ 0.23 USD
06 Variation IV. L’istesso tempo 01:14 $ 0.30 USD
07 Variation V. L’istesso tempo 00:44 $ 0.18 USD
08 Variation VI. Tempo di valse 02:27 $ 0.59 USD
09 Variation VII. Allegro moderato 01:20 $ 0.32 USD
10 Variation VIII. Fuga. Allegro moderato 02:32 $ 0.61 USD
11 Variation IX. Andante flebile, ma non tanto 03:13 $ 0.77 USD
12 Variation X. Tempo di Mazurka. Con brio 01:51 $ 0.44 USD
13 Variation XI. Moderato 02:16 $ 0.54 USD
14 B. Variazione Finale e Coda 11:34 $ 2.78 USD
  Composer: Babajanian, Arno
  Piano Trio (1952) 21:40
15 I. Largo - Allegro espressivo 08:42 $ 2.09 USD
16 II. Andante 06:59 $ 1.68 USD
17 III. Allegro vivace 05:59 $ 1.44 USD
  Composer: Schnittke, Alfred
18 Tango from the opera Life with an Idiot (arr. Yevgeny
02:52 $ 0.69 USD
  Album total 73:21
ComposerBabajanian, Arno
Schnittke, Alfred
Tchaikovksy, Peter Ilyich
ViolinGluzman, Vadim
CelloMoser, Johannes
PianoSudbin, Yevgeny
ArrangerSudbin, Yevgeny

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News