Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Tchaikovsky – Symphony No.5

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue numberBIS-2018 SACD
Release date2013-08-10
Orig. sample rate96000Hz
Total time70:48

5 Diapasons, Diapason 01/2014

”Lindberg’s enjoyable interpretation of Tchaikovsky’s Fifth is offset by a stylish and elegant approach to the suite from Swan Lake. The Arctic Philharmonic produces some really refined playing.” BBC Music Magazine, 01/2014

Tchaikovsky's Fifth Symphony was the first symphony Christian Lindberg ever heard, at the age of ten. Nine years later it was the first he performed as a professional musician – in the brass section of the Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra. Having embarked on a successful conducting career, the trombonist-turned-international-soloist has since had the opportunity also to conduct the work, most memorably at the Mariinskij Theatre in St Petersburg, the city where the composer himself gave the first performance in 1888. With his Arctic Philharmonic Orchestra, based in the Norwegian city of Bodø well north of the Arctic Circle, Lindberg has now recorded this symphony, which has become one of the composer's best-loved works. Especially the hauntingly beautiful second movement has gripped audiences, while the work's very clear exposition of the idea of 'ultimate victory through strife' especially during World War II made it a staple in the concert halls. The symphony is here coupled with the equally popular six-movement suite from the Swan Lake, the first of the composer's three great ballets. The suite was compiled and published after the death of the composer, but provides a faithful reflection of the atmosphere, colour, melody and, above all, rhythmic invention that made Tchaikovsky such a master of music for the dance.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 14.60
Extra material for download
  Composer: Tchaikovsky, Pyotr Il'yich
  Symphony No.5 in E minor, Op.64 (1888) 43:44
01 I. Andante – Allegro con anima 13:10 $ 2.77 USD
02 II. Andante cantabile, con alcuna licenza 12:16 $ 2.58 USD
03 III. Valse. Allegro moderato 06:02 $ 1.27 USD
04 IV. Finale. Andante maestoso – Allegro vivace 12:16 $ 2.58 USD
  Suite from the ballet ‘Swan Lake’ 25:46
05 Scène [Act II, No.10 from the ballet] 02:54 $ 0.61 USD
06 Valse [Act I, No.2] 07:08 $ 1.50 USD
07 Danse des cygnes [Act III, No.13, Var.I] 01:38 $ 0.34 USD
08 Scène [Act II, No.13, Var.V] 06:28 $ 1.36 USD
09 Csárdás: Danse hongroise [Act III, No.20] 03:03 $ 0.64 USD
10 Scène [Act IV, No.28 and part of No.29] 04:35 $ 0.96 USD
  Album total 70:48
ComposerTchaikovsky, Pyotr Il'yich
ConductorLindberg, Christian
OrchestraArctic Philharmonic Orchestra

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News