Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Tchaikovsky – The Seasons

Catalogue numberBIS-2140 SACD
Release date2015-11-10
Orig. sample rate96000Hz
Total time66:28

Peter Tchaikovsky composed one of the most popular piano concertos in the repertory, but in solo recital programmes his name is rarely seen. Although little known, his solo piano music can nevertheless be surprisingly rewarding. It includes two large-scale sonatas – a youthful work in C sharp minor, and the Grand Sonata in G major recorded here – and a large number of mainly short pieces published either singly or as collections throughout the composer's life. This type of work was profitable for composer and publishers, and an indication of the relative commercial value comes from a letter in which Tchaikovsky offers his publisher the Grand Sonata for only 50 roubles, but asks 240 roubles for the twenty-four little pieces of his Children’s Album, Op. 39. A work of big, public gestures, the sonata is anything but childish and to a large extent Tchaikovsky keeps the lyrical ideas that came so naturally to him firmly under control. In contrast, lyricism was given free rein two years earlier, in the twelve pieces that make up The Seasons. They were the result of a commission for a series of piano pieces to appear in a monthly St Petersburg journal. Some ten years after the serial publication in the journal the pieces appeared in print as a collection which has become Tchaikovsky’s best-known solo piano music. As with much of his work in this genre, the ultimate model is Schumann: January, for example, combines hints of Schumannesque Innigkeit with Tatiana’s music in Eugene Onegin. With the present recording Freddy Kempf, who made his acclaimed début recording with Schumann's Carnaval and has gone on to demonstrate his versatility in programmes taking in Bach as well as Liszt and Stravinsky, now adds Tchaikovsky to his discography.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 15.66
Extra material for download
  Composer: Tchaikovsky, Pyotr
  Grand Sonata in G major, Op. 37 (1878) 26:12
01 I. Moderato e risoluto 11:06 $ 2.66 USD
02 II. Andante non troppo quasi moderato 06:48 $ 1.63 USD
03 III. Scherzo. Allegro giocoso 02:43 $ 0.65 USD
04 IV. Finale. Allegro vivace 05:35 $ 1.34 USD
  The Seasons, Op. 37a (1876) 39:04
05 January (By the fireside). Moderato semplice ma espressivo 04:40 $ 1.12 USD
06 February (Carnival). Allegro giusto 02:45 $ 0.66 USD
07 March (Song of the lark). Andantino espressivo 02:15 $ 0.54 USD
08 April (Snowdrop). Allegretto con moto e un poco rubato 02:46 $ 0.66 USD
09 May (May nights). Andantino 03:25 $ 0.82 USD
10 June (Barcarolle). Andante cantabile 04:30 $ 1.08 USD
11 July (Song of the reaper). Allegro moderato con moto 01:40 $ 0.40 USD
12 August (The harvest). Allegro vivace 03:21 $ 0.80 USD
13 September (The hunt). Allegro non troppo 02:15 $ 0.54 USD
14 October (Autumn song). Andante doloroso e molto cantabile 04:35 $ 1.10 USD
15 November (Troika). Allegro moderato 02:40 $ 0.64 USD
16 December (Christmas). Tempo di Valse 04:12 $ 1.01 USD
  Album total 66:28
ComposerTchaikovsky, Pyotr
PianoKempf, Freddy

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News