Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Vivaldi - 4 seasons

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue numberBIS-2103 SACD
Release date2015-01-01
Orig. sample rate96000Hz
Total time67:37

“With fabulous performances and BIS’s state of the art recording I would say it has to be one of the top choices in a fiercely competitive market.”; “What you do get is all the excitement and spontaneity of a live performance… an utterly unified aesthetic which admits of the wildest fantasy.” Gramophone

1711 saw the publication of what was to become one of the most important musical collections of the first half of the 18th century: Antonio Vivaldi’s L’estro armonico (‘The Harmonic Fancy’). Scored for one, two, or four violin soloists, the twelve concertos in the set fuelled a burgeoning fashion for new Italian music in northern Europe, and were soon being avidly performed and enjoyed in major musical centres, inspiring younger composers including Bach, Handel and Telemann. Vivaldi’s set – represented here by the Concerto in B minor, RV 580 and Violin Concerto in A minor, RV 356 – established a vogue for a virtuosic and brilliant type of writing, with fast movements characterized as much by their propulsive basses as by conventional melodiousness and with central slow movements often exuding a mesmeric, almost ghostly calm. Fourteen years later another collection of concertos – Il cimento dell’armonia e dell’inventione (‘The Contest of Harmony and Invention’) – would secure Vivaldi’s reputation for eternity. The first four concertos of this collection form what has become one of the most widely spread classical compositions in the history of music: Le Quattro Stagioni. Countless violinists have recorded Vivaldi’s Four Seasons, not to mention the many arrangements of the pieces for other instruments. Now Richard Tognetti and the Australian Chamber Orchestra, a team internationally recognized for its virtuosity, energy and individuality, has recorded their take on Vivaldi’s springtime birdsong, summer thunderstorm, autumn hunting and chattering teeth of icy winter. The programme also includes two typically Vivaldian slow movements, a Largo and a Grave, as well as a Sinfonia for strings originally intended as the overture of the opera La verità in cimento (‘Truth in contention’).
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 13.83
Extra material for download
  Composer: Vivaldi, Antonio
  Concerto No.1 in E major, RV269, ‘La primavera’ 09:34
01 I. Allegro 03:19 $ 0.70 USD
02 II. Largo 02:20 $ 0.49 USD
03 III. Allegro 03:55 $ 0.82 USD
  Concerto No.2 in G minor, RV315, ‘L’estate’ 10:27
04 I. Allegro non molto 05:17 $ 1.11 USD
05 II. Adagio – Presto 02:26 $ 0.51 USD
06 III. Presto 02:44 $ 0.57 USD
  Concerto No.3 in F major, RV293, ‘L’autunno’ 11:25
07 I. Allegro 04:55 $ 1.03 USD
08 II. Adagio molto 03:14 $ 0.68 USD
09 III. Allegro 03:16 $ 0.69 USD
  Concerto No.4 in F minor, RV297, ‘L’inverno’ 08:25
10 I. Allegro non molto 03:21 $ 0.70 USD
11 II. Largo 01:46 $ 0.37 USD
12 III. Allegro 03:18 $ 0.69 USD
  from Concerto in D major, RV226
13 II. Largo 01:34 $ 0.33 USD
  Concerto in B minor, RV580 09:16
14 I. Allegro 03:36 $ 0.76 USD
15 II. Largo 02:19 $ 0.49 USD
16 III. Allegro 03:21 $ 0.70 USD
  Concerto in A minor, RV356 07:22
17 I. Allegro 02:51 $ 0.60 USD
18 II. Largo 02:11 $ 0.46 USD
19 III. Presto 02:20 $ 0.49 USD
  from Concerto in D major, RV562
20 II. Grave 03:14 $ 0.68 USD
  Sinfonia from La verità in cimento, RV739 04:35
21 I. Allegro 01:38 $ 0.34 USD
22 II. Andante 02:06 $ 0.44 USD
23 III. Presto 00:51 $ 0.18 USD
  Album total 67:37
ComposerVivaldi, Antonio
Conductor / violinTognetti, Richard
Chamber orchestraAustralian Chamber Orchestra
ConductorTognetti, Richard
OrchestraAustralian Chamber Orchestra

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News