Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Yevgeny Sudbin plays Medtner & Rachmaninov

Catalogue numberBIS-1848 SACD
Release date2015-12-10
Orig. sample rate96000Hz / 44100Hz (tr3-5)
Total time60:00

Having previously released recordings of Medtner's three piano concertos as well as three of Rachmaninov's five concertante works, Yevgeny Sudbin on the present disc combines solo pieces by the two friends and fellow-composers. From Sergei Rachmaninov's rich and varied production he has chosen six of the celebrated preludes, including the celebrated 'Alla marcia' in G minor (Op.23 No.5) as well as the much-loved Prelude No.12 in G sharp minor from the Op.32 set. But Sudbin, who is a great admirer of Nikolai Medtner, opens his new disc with a generous selection of that composer's solo piano music. This section begins with the Prologue from Stimmungsbilder, the eighteen-year-old composer's Opus 1, and closes with Sonata tragica, composed shortly before Medtner left Russia in 1921, never to return. It also includes three of the thirty-some Fairy Tales that Medtner composed throughout his life. ‘No one tells such tales as Kolya’, Rachmaninov used to joke affectionately, and with these pieces Medtner created his own, unique genre. He himself used the Russian word skazka or German Märchen to describe them, and in his liner notes Yevgeny Sudbin suggests that the creative impulse came not only from folklore but also from such diverse sources as Push­kin, Shakespeare and even the Bible. As an interpreter of both these composers, Sudbin has proven himself both in concert and on disc, with previous recordings being named Disc of the Month in Gramophone, 'Essential Recording' in BBC Music Magazine and '10/10' on, to mention just a few of the distinctions awarded them.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 12.75
Extra material for download
  Composer: Medtner, Nikolai
01 Prologue from Stimmungsbilder, Op. 1 (c. 1895) 03:45 $ 0.83 USD
02 Fairy Tale, Op. 51 No. 3 (1928) 03:24 $ 0.75 USD
  from Forgotten Melodies, first cycle, Op. 38 (1918–20)
03 Sonata-Reminiscenza (No. 1) 13:09 $ 2.89 USD
04 Fairy Tale, Op. 20 No. 1 (1909) 02:37 $ 0.58 USD
05 Fairy Tale, Op. 26 No. 1 (c. 1912) 02:31 $ 0.55 USD
  from Forgotten Melodies, second cycle, Op. 39 (1918–20) 13:51
06 Canzona matinata (No. 4) 04:01 $ 0.88 USD
07 Sonata tragica (No. 5) 09:50 $ 2.16 USD
  Composer: Rachmaninov, Sergei
  Six Preludes 18:40
08 Prelude in D major, Op. 23 No. 4 (1903) 04:02 $ 0.89 USD
09 Prelude in G minor, Op. 23 No. 5 (1901) 03:38 $ 0.80 USD
10 Prelude in G major, Op. 32 No. 5 (1910) 02:41 $ 0.59 USD
11 Prelude in F minor, Op. 32 No. 6 (1910) 01:21 $ 0.30 USD
12 Prelude in G sharp minor, Op. 32 No. 12 (1910) 02:18 $ 0.51 USD
13 Prelude in D flat major, Op. 32 No. 13 (1910) 04:40 $ 1.03 USD
  Album total 60:00
ComposerMedtner, Nikolai
Rachmaninov, Sergei
PianoSudbin, Yevgeny

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News