Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Kaufmann: Chamber Works

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue numberCHAN20170
Release date2020-08-28
Orig. sample rate96000Hz

For the fourth instalment in its Music in Exile series, the Toronto-based ARC Ensemble turns its attention to the music of Walter Kaufmann. Despite a very promising start in Prague and then Berlin, and friendships with Albert Einstein and with Franz Kafkas circle, Kaufmanns career become a casualty of the Nazi regime that forced scores of Jewish musicians to flee Germany in his case for Bombay in India. Kaufmanns intriguing and extensive body of work remains largely forgotten, certainly underappreciated, and perhaps most tragically, unperformed since first heard, although ironically, millions of Indians are familiar with one piece of his music the signature tune that he wrote in 1936 for All India Radio, which is still played every morning. The hallmark of this remarkable music, explains the ARC Ensembles Artistic Director, Simon Wynberg, is its striking originality. There are flashes of Debussy, Bartók, and Stravinsky, and hints of Bohemian and klezmer music, but the end result is a world of inventiveness and surprises. It is an extraordinary blend of Eastern and Western traditions, both adventurous and accessible, and no less compelling for the eighty-year delay since its first performance.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 20.84
Extra material for download
  Composer: Kaufmann, Walter
  String Quartet No. 11 18:32
01 String Quartet No. 11: I. Lento 05:30 $ 1.49 USD
02 String Quartet No. 11: II. Un poco grave 05:11 $ 1.40 USD
03 String Quartet No. 11: III. Allegro molto 03:00 $ 0.81 USD
04 String Quartet No. 11: IV. Allegro barbarico 04:51 $ 1.31 USD
  Composer: Kaufmann, Walter
  Violin Sonata No. 2, Op. 44 10:33
05 Violin Sonata No. 2, Op. 44: I. Molto moderato e tranquillo 03:59 $ 1.08 USD
06 Violin Sonata No. 2, Op. 44: II. Adagio molto 03:17 $ 0.89 USD
07 Violin Sonata No. 2, Op. 44: III. Vivace 03:17 $ 0.89 USD
  Composer: Kaufmann, Walter
  String Quartet No. 7 24:11
08 String Quartet No. 7: I. Energico 06:10 $ 1.67 USD
09 String Quartet No. 7: II. Sostenuto cantabile 05:41 $ 1.53 USD
10 String Quartet No. 7: III. Allegro molto 02:49 $ 0.76 USD
11 String Quartet No. 7: IV. Andantino 04:35 $ 1.24 USD
12 String Quartet No. 7: V. Vivace 04:56 $ 1.33 USD
  Composer: Kaufmann, Walter
  Sonatina No. 12 (Arr. for Clarinet & Piano) 09:04
13 Sonatina No. 12 (Arr. for Clarinet & Piano): I. Sostenuto
04:17 $ 1.16 USD
14 Sonatina No. 12 (Arr. for Clarinet & Piano): II. Intermezzo 01:29 $ 0.40 USD
15 Sonatina No. 12 (Arr. for Clarinet & Piano): III. Finale 03:18 $ 0.89 USD
  Composer: Kaufmann, Walter
16 Septet 14:52 $ 4.01 USD
  Album total 77:12
ComposerKaufmann, Walter
EnsembleARC Ensemble
ViolinKruspe, Jamie
CelloJeong, Kimberly

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News