Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Kenneth Leighton: Organ Works, Volume 1

Catalogue numberRES10134
Release date2014-06-20
Orig. sample rate96000Hz

5 stars in Choir and Organ and on Classical Ear
Gramophone Editor's Choice

Renowned organist Stephen Farr returns to the Resonus label with the first of three major albums surveying the complete organ works of the twentieth-century British composer Kenneth Leighton (1929-1988).

Recorded on the monumental Rieger organ of St Giles' Cathedral in Edinburgh, the city where Leighton spent most of his working life as a composer, the centrepiece of this opening programme is Leighton's most substantial work for the instrument, Missa de Gloria, Op. 82, written for the inaugural Dublin International Organ Festival in 1980. Also featured are the inventive Six Fantasies on Hymn Tunes, Op. 72 (written for former St Giles' organist Herrick Bunney) and the Imporvisation in Memoriam Maurice de Sausmarez from 1969.

Farr is also joined by organist John Butt for the epic and challenging organ duet based on a Scottish Psalm-tune, Martyrs, Op. 73.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 21.32
Extra material for download
  Composer: Leighton, Kenneth
  Six Fantasies on Hymn Tunes, Op. 72 22:38
01 Helmsley 03:22 $ 0.91 USD
02 Aus der Tiefe (Heinlien) 04:02 $ 1.09 USD
03 Lumetto 02:57 $ 0.80 USD
04 St Columba (Erin) 02:58 $ 0.80 USD
05 Veni Emmanuel 06:11 $ 1.67 USD
06 Toccata on Hanover 03:08 $ 0.85 USD
  Composer: Leighton, Kenneth
07 Martyrs: Dialogues on a Scottish Psalm-tune, Op. 73 12:21 $ 3.33 USD
  Composer: Leighton, Kenneth
08 Improvisation in Memoriam Maurice de Sausmarez 06:50 $ 1.85 USD
  Composer: Leighton, Kenneth
  Missa de Gloria (Dublin Festival Mass), Op. 82 37:08
09 Kyrie 04:35 $ 1.24 USD
10 Gloria 08:28 $ 2.29 USD
11 Credo 07:57 $ 2.15 USD
12 Sanctus 05:39 $ 1.53 USD
13 Agnus Dei 05:57 $ 1.61 USD
14 Ite, Missa Est 04:32 $ 1.22 USD
  Album total 78:57
OrganButt, John
Farr, Stephen
ComposerLeighton, Kenneth

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News