Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Liszt - Transcendental Études

Catalogue numberBIS-2681 SACD
Release date2023-08-04
Orig. sample rate96000Hz
Total time67:10

24 FLAC Discount

The Transcendental Études form a cycle of twelve pieces whose composition began in 1826 and was completed in 1851. Starting from the idea of an encyclopædic collection which, in the manner of Johann Sebastian Bach’s Well-Tempered Clavier, Liszt’s Transcendental Études became something of a seismograph of his compositional aesthetic, first strongly under the influence of Paganini, later more in the style of character pieces. These études are among the most difficult works ever written for the piano. Together with Chopin’s Études, they serve as a basis for piano technique, some of them already prefiguring musical impressionism, and they had a significant influence on subsequent piano music, most notably that of Debussy, Rachmaninov, Bartók, and Ligeti.
In 2009, Haochen Zhang was the youngest pianist ever to receive the Gold Medal at the Van Cliburn International Piano Competition. Since then, he has captivated audiences worldwide with a unique combination of deep musical sensitivity, fearless imagination and spectacular virtuosity. After two releases devoted to concertos (Prokofiev and Tchaikovsky, BIS-2381 and Beethoven, BIS-2581), Zhang returns to the solo recital with this disc devoted to some of the most important works in the repertoire of modern pianists.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 10.06
Extra material for download
  Composer: Liszt, Franz
  Transcendental Études, S.139 67:04
01 I. Preludio 00:54 $ 0.14 USD
02 II. Molto vivace (in A minor) 02:16 $ 0.34 USD
03 III. Paysage 05:30 $ 0.83 USD
04 IV. Mazeppa 07:14 $ 1.09 USD
05 V. Feux follets 03:34 $ 0.54 USD
06 VI. Vision 05:44 $ 0.86 USD
07 VII. Eroica 05:52 $ 0.88 USD
08 VIII. Wilde Jagd 05:01 $ 0.75 USD
09 IX. Ricordanza 11:50 $ 1.78 USD
10 X. Allegro agitato molto (in F minor) 04:47 $ 0.72 USD
11 XI. Harmonies du soir 08:10 $ 1.23 USD
12 XII. Chasse-neige 06:12 $ 0.93 USD
  Album total 67:10
ComposerLiszt, Franz
PianoZhang, Haochen

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News