Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Mozart - Serenades & Divertimenti

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue numberBIS-2326 SACD
Release date2017-08-10
Orig. sample rate96000Hz
Total time65:02

24 FLAC Discount

Up to and including Mozart, one important task for every composer not employed by the Church was to entertain. Much of Mozart’s best-loved music consists of occasional works intended for receptions and parties, balls and banquets, ceremonies and celebrations. These pieces are known to us under a number of different names: serenades, divertimenti, Nachtmusik and notturni are just some examples.

In so far as these are genres, the distinctions between them are often blurred and many of them seem to have been used more or less interchangeably. But when the music is so fresh and immediate, labelling it becomes less important. In 1778, Leopold Mozart – who never missed an opportunity to impart his wisdom – wrote to his son describing what characterizes a successful piece: ‘Short, easy and popular… written in a natural, flowing and easy style – and at the same time bearing the marks of sound composition.’

That this recipe was something Wolfgang had already mastered six years earlier becomes obvious when one listens to any of the three Divertimentos recorded here, and it’s equally clear that he hadn’t forgotten it when he composed Eine kleine Nachtmusik ten years later. What Leopold doesn’t mention is playfulness, another quality that Mozart had in spades, and which Terje Tønnesen and his Camerata Nordica explore in their performances, allowing a plaintive Swedish nyckelharpa (‘keyed fiddle’) to be heard in the trio section in Eine kleine Nachtmusik and giving the timpanist an opportunity to rock the party in the closing rondo of Serenata notturna.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 15.57
Extra material for download
  Composer: Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus
  Adagio and Fugue in C minor, K546 06:56
01 Adagio 03:12 $ 0.77 USD
02 Fugue 03:44 $ 0.90 USD
  Serenade in G major, K 525, ‘Eine kleine Nachtmusik’ 16:22
03 I. Allegro 05:28 $ 1.31 USD
04 II. Romance. Andante 04:52 $ 1.17 USD
05 III. Menuetto. Allegretto 02:11 $ 0.52 USD
06 IV. Rondo. Allegro 03:51 $ 0.92 USD
  Serenade in D major, K 239, ‘Serenata notturna’ 10:51
07 I. Marcia. Maestoso 03:02 $ 0.73 USD
08 II. Minuetto 03:27 $ 0.83 USD
09 III. Rondo. Allegretto 04:22 $ 1.05 USD
  Divertimento in D major, K 136 11:34
10 I. Allegro 03:50 $ 0.92 USD
11 II. Andante 05:09 $ 1.24 USD
12 III. Presto 02:35 $ 0.62 USD
  Divertimento in B flat major, K 137 09:15
13 I. Andante 04:59 $ 1.20 USD
14 II. Allegro di molto 02:12 $ 0.53 USD
15 III. Allegro assai 02:04 $ 0.50 USD
  Divertimento in F major, K 138 09:55
16 I. Allegro 03:35 $ 0.86 USD
17 II. Andante 03:58 $ 0.95 USD
18 III. Presto 02:22 $ 0.57 USD
  Album total 65:02
ComposerMozart, Wolfgang Amadeus
Violin and leaderTonnesen (Tønnesen), Terje
EnsembleCamerata Nordica

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News