Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Fallen to Dust - English Song Recital

James Newby wished to dedicate his second disc on BIS to his sister Laura who passed away in 2015, her daughter and his mother. After singing Gerald Finzi’s ‘Fear no more the heat o’ the sun’ at her funeral, he felt it fitting that the cycle from which it is taken, Let us Garlands Bring, would form the centrepiece of the programme. Alongside this cycle, pianist Joseph Middleton and Newby have designed a programme of English songs that reflect on themes of loss, grief and death – but also joy, love and healing with varying styles, sound worlds and atmospheres.
George Butterworth, Rebecca Clarke, Edward Elgar, Ralph Vaughan Williams, Benjamin Britten, Liza Lehmann and Errollyn Wallen are just some of the composers who complete the programme, including Arthur Somervell with his cycle ‘A Shropshire Lad’. Like Heinrich Heine’s poems that Schumann used for his famous cycle Dichterliebe, these poems by Alfred Edward Housman deal with unrequited love in first person lyrics. This disc ends on a lighter note with the whimsical song, ‘The Green-eyed Dragon’ by Wolseley Charles, which often concludes live performances as an encore.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 20.30
Extra material for download
  Composer: Dove, Jonathan
01 All You Who Sleep Tonight 02:04 $ 0.50 USD
  Composer: Butterworth, George
02 Requiescat 03:14 $ 0.78 USD
  Composer: Clarke, Rebecca
03 The Seal Man 05:20 $ 1.28 USD
  Composer: Finzi, Gerald
04 The Clock of the Years 05:01 $ 1.20 USD
  Let Us Garlands Bring 14:45
05 I. Come away, come away, death 03:27 $ 0.83 USD
06 II. Who is Silvia? 01:32 $ 0.37 USD
07 III. Fear no more the heat o' the sun 05:15 $ 1.26 USD
08 IV. O Mistress Mine 01:52 $ 0.45 USD
09 V. It was a lover and his lass 02:39 $ 0.64 USD
  Composer: Traditional
10 The Three Ravens 03:52 $ 0.93 USD
  Composer: Gurney, Ivor
11 By a Bierside 04:19 $ 1.04 USD
  Composer: Elgar, Sir Edward
12 Pleading 02:52 $ 0.69 USD
  Composer: Vaughan Williams, Ralph
13 The Sky above the Roof 02:52 $ 0.69 USD
  Composer: Somervell, Arthur
  A Shropshire Lad 22:04
14 I. Loveliest of Trees, the Cherry now 02:13 $ 0.53 USD
15 II. When I was one-and-twenty 01:07 $ 0.27 USD
16 III. There pass the careless people 01:33 $ 0.37 USD
17 IV. In summer-time on Bredon 03:07 $ 0.75 USD
18 V. The Street sounds to the Soldiers' tread 01:59 $ 0.48 USD
19 VI. On the idle hill of Summer 02:33 $ 0.61 USD
20 VII. White in the moon the long road lies 03:17 $ 0.79 USD
21 VIII. Think no more, Lad, laugh, be jolly 01:38 $ 0.39 USD
22 IX. Into my Heart an Air that kills 02:02 $ 0.49 USD
23 X. The Lads in their hundreds 02:35 $ 0.62 USD
  Composer: Dibdin, Charles
24 Tom Bowling 04:31 $ 1.08 USD
  Composer: Gurney, Ivor
25 Dearest, when I am dead 01:43 $ 0.41 USD
  Composer: Lehmann, Liza
26 Henry King 02:54 $ 0.70 USD
  Composer: Errollyn Wallen
27 About Here 04:44 $ 1.14 USD
  Composer: Charles, Wolseley
28 The Green-Eyed Dragon 04:19 $ 1.04 USD
  Album total 84:47
ComposerButterworth, George
Charles, Wolseley
Clarke, Rebecca
Dibdin, Charles
Dove, Jonathan
Elgar, Sir Edward
Errollyn Wallen
Finzi, Gerald
Gurney, Ivor
Lehmann, Liza
Somervell, Arthur
Vaughan Williams, Ralph
BaritoneNewby, James
PianoMiddleton, Joseph
ArrangerBritten, Benjamin
Ireland, John

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News