Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Mozart - Serenades

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue numberBIS-2244 SACD
Release date2017-02-10
Orig. sample rate96000 Hz
Total time74:41

Die Kölner Akademie and Michael Willens have previously recorded Mozart’s complete piano concertos with Ronald Brautigam, earning praise for their fresh and colourful contributions to the series. The team now releases the first of four projected disc with further Mozart scores, beginning with two of the composer’s best-loved serenades. Serenades were a characteristic feature of Salzburg musical life: opening with a march and continuing with as many as eight or nine separate movements on an orchestral scale, such works will have been ringing in Mozart’s ears from childhood. Thirteen serenades of varying scope and scorings are included in Mozart’s catalogue of works, and of these the well-known ‘Posthorn Serenade’ is the ninth. It is also the last serenade that Mozart composed before leaving Salzburg for Vienna. The nickname stems from Mozart’s inclusion of a solo for post horn (‘corno di posta’) in one of the movements, but the wind instruments play an important role throughout the serenade, with extended solos for flute and oboe.

In comparison, Eine kleine Nachtmusik – the last serenade Mozart wrote – is for strings only. It is also shorter than many of the other serenades, and was probably intended for a more intimate occasion. Mozart’s own thematic catalogue lists it as having five movements, but as the first minuet and trio (preceding the slow movement) have been lost, only four are typically performed today. In this recording a minuet from Mozart’s very first string quartet in G major, K. 80, is incorporated by way of completion of the five-movement arch.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 17.90
Extra material for download
01 March in D major, K 335 No. 1 04:17 $ 1.03 USD
  Serenade No. 9 in D major, K 320 'Posthorn Serenade' 41:08
02 I. Adagio maestoso - Allegro con spirito 08:18 $ 1.99 USD
03 II. Minuetto 04:08 $ 0.99 USD
04 III. Concertante. Andante grazioso 06:41 $ 1.60 USD
05 IV. Rondeau. Allegro ma non troppo 05:36 $ 1.34 USD
06 V. Andantino 07:39 $ 1.84 USD
07 VI. Minuetto 04:33 $ 1.09 USD
08 VII. Finale. Presto 04:13 $ 1.01 USD
09 March in D major, K 335 No. 2 04:25 $ 1.06 USD
  Serenade No. 13 in G major, K 525 ‘Eine kleine Nachtmusik’ 24:45
10 I. Allegro 08:21 $ 2.00 USD
11 Minuetto from String Quartet in G major, K 80 02:52 $ 0.69 USD
12 II. Romanze. Andante 04:55 $ 1.18 USD
13 III. Minuetto. Allegretto 02:21 $ 0.56 USD
14 IV. Rondo. Allegro 06:16 $ 1.50 USD
  Album total 74:41
ConductorWillens, Michael Alexander
OrchestraKölner Akademie, Die

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News