Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Mozart Serenades - ‘Haffner’

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue numberBIS-2394 SACD
Release date2020-02-07
Orig. sample rate96000Hz
Total time85:51

Besides an acclaimed series of recordings with Ronald Brautigam of the complete piano concertos by Mozart, Mendelssohn and Beethoven, Kölner Akademie and Michael Alexander Willens are undertaking a survey of Mozart’s serenades and other incidental works. Their first disc in this series included the Posthorn Serenade and demonstrated, according to the reviewer on MusicWeb-International, that the ensemble is ‘amongst the best groups in the world of period performance.’

Since then the team has recorded works associated with the Freemasons, and here takes on one of the most famous of the serenades, the ‘Haffner’, named after Sigmund Haffner, who commissioned it for the festivities surrounding his sister’s wedding in 1776. A notable feature of Mozart’s serenades – and the large-scale Haffner is no exception – is the incorporation of virtuosic solo parts, here performed by the violinist Alexander Janiczek. On the amply-filled disc (almost 86 minutes!), the at times quite imposing serenade is followed by Mozart’s ‘Musical Joke’ – Ein musikalischer Spaß, K 522. A work in four movements, this is a delightful and very skilfully crafted parody of musical incompetence. It is written for strings and a pair of horns, and its frequent caricatures of the second-rate – whether in composition or performance – are brilliantly observed, by Mozart as well as the present performers.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 20.58
Extra material for download
  Composer: Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus
01 March in D major, K 249 04:03 $ 0.98 USD
  Serenade in D major, ‘Haffner’, K 250 60:18
02 I. Serenata. Allegro maestoso - Allegro molto 09:43 $ 2.34 USD
03 II. Andante 08:32 $ 2.05 USD
04 III. Menuetto - Trio - Menuetto 04:01 $ 0.97 USD
05 IV. Rondeau. Allegro 08:58 $ 2.15 USD
06 V. Menuetto galante -Trio - Menuetto 05:45 $ 1.38 USD
07 VI. Andante 07:14 $ 1.74 USD
08 VII. Menuetto - Trio I - Menuetto - Trio II - Menuetto 05:07 $ 1.23 USD
09 VIII. Adagio - Allegro assai 10:58 $ 2.68 USD
  Ein musikalischer Spaß, K 522 20:45
10 I. Allegro 04:30 $ 1.09 USD
11 II. Menuetto - Trio - Menuetto 06:20 $ 1.52 USD
12 III. Andante cantabile 05:28 $ 1.32 USD
13 IV. Presto 04:27 $ 1.14 USD
  Album total 85:51
ComposerMozart, Wolfgang Amadeus
ConductorWillens, Michael Alexander
OrchestraKolner Akademie
ViolinJaniczek, Alexander

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News