Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Schumann - Piano Trios, Vol.1

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue numberBIS-2437 SACD
Release date2020-02-07
Orig. sample rate96000Hz
Total time76:19

It was in 1842, his ‘year of chamber music’ that Robert Schumann took on the combination of violin, cello and piano for the first time. He seems to have decided against releasing the resulting Fantasiestücke as a fully-fledged piano trio, however, but later returned to the work, revising it for publication. The model here is not the large-scale, quasi-symphonic trios of Beethoven or Schubert – instead Haydn’s characteristic trio textures spring to mind, especially in the first two movements where the cello largely follows the piano’s left-hand bass line.

By the time the Fantasiestücke was published in 1850, Schumann had already written two ‘proper’ piano trios, No. 1 in D minor and No. 2 in F major. According to the composer the second of these ‘makes a friendlier and more immediate impression’ but it is in fact the D minor trio that has long been the more popular: passionate, mainly extrovert and bursting with fine thematic material it is the easiest to grasp on one hearing. Both works are filled to capacity with imitative writing, sometimes conspicuously so but often subtly as if on a subconscious level – an aspect that the members of the Kungsbacka Piano Trio, with more than 20 years of playing together, are able to make the most of.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 17.86
Extra material for download
  Composer: Schumann, Robert
  Piano Trio No. 1 in D minor, Op. 63 30:41
01 I. Mit Energie und Leidenschaft 11:50 $ 2.84 USD
02 II. Lebhaft, doch nicht zu rasch - Trio 04:44 $ 1.14 USD
03 III. Langsam, mit inniger Empfindung - Bewegter - Tempo I 06:21 $ 1.52 USD
04 IV. Mit Feuer - Nach und nach schneller 07:46 $ 1.86 USD
  Fantasiestucke, Op. 88 17:57
05 I. Romanze. Nicht schnell, mit innigem Ausdruck 02:20 $ 0.56 USD
06 II. Humoreske. Lebhaft - Etwas lebhafter 06:42 $ 1.61 USD
07 III. Duett. Langsam und mit Ausdruck 03:16 $ 0.78 USD
08 IV. Finale. Im Marsch-Tempo 05:39 $ 1.36 USD
  Piano Trio No. 2 in F major, Op. 80 25:48
09 I. Sehr lebhaft 07:39 $ 1.84 USD
10 II. Mit innigem Ausdruck - Lebhaft 07:48 $ 1.87 USD
11 II. In mäßiger Bewegung 05:03 $ 1.21 USD
12 IV. Nicht zu rasch 05:18 $ 1.27 USD
  Album total 76:19
ComposerSchumann, Robert
EnsembleKungsbacka Piano Trio

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News