Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Oceano - Chamber Music by Sebastian Fagerlund

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue numberBIS-2324 SACD
Release date2021-10-01
Orig. sample rate96000Hz
Total time70:33

It is primarily for his large-scale orchestral works that Sebastian Fagerlund (b. 1972) has attracted attention, but throughout his career he has also composed chamber music. In his production, orchestral and chamber music have a fruitful relationship in which a chamber work may contain the germ of ideas that then appear in a new form in an orchestral score. One example of this is Fuel – a set of six miniatures from 2010 – which grows out of the same basic material as Ignite, a work for large orchestra completed in the same year, although they differ greatly in scale and in character. Common to the two genres is also Fagerlund’s firm grasp of the capabilities of the instruments he is writing for.

Some of Finland’s leading instrumentalists join forces on the present album, with French horn player Hervé Joulain making an appearance in Transient Light, which is dedicated to him. The six works were composed between 2007 and 2013 and are all for different constellations and of varying dimensions – from a brief duo in one movement (Scherzic) to a quartet in six (Verso l’interno). But there are also common features that recur throughout the programme; for example machine-like textures against which material with longer lines is reflected, and influences from other genres such as traditional music from the Middle East or rock. These do not appear as direct stylistic loans, however, but rather as elements embedded in Fagerlund’s own music.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 16.90
Extra material for download
  Composer: Fagerlund, Sebastian
  Oceano for violin, viola and cello 12:27
01 I. Sonore 05:50 $ 1.40 USD
02 II. Agitato 06:37 $ 1.59 USD
  Fuel, six miniatures for clarinet, cello and piano 08:13
03 No. 1. Presto preciso 01:24 $ 0.34 USD
04 No. 2. Molto ritmico e meccanico 02:03 $ 0.49 USD
05 No. 3. Leggiero 01:03 $ 0.25 USD
06 No. 4. Tranquillo poco rubato 02:10 $ 0.52 USD
07 No. 5. Molto ritmico e meccanico 00:42 $ 0.17 USD
08 No. 6. Esaltato 00:51 $ 0.20 USD
09 Transient Light for horn, violin, cello and piano 11:08 $ 2.67 USD
  Sonata for Clarinet and Piano 16:40
10 I. Meccanico con forza 04:38 $ 1.11 USD
11 II. Lento misterioso 06:49 $ 1.64 USD
12 III. Introduzione quasi libero - Esaltato 05:13 $ 1.25 USD
13 Scherzic for viola and cello 04:16 $ 1.02 USD
  String Quartet No.1, 'Verso l'interno' 17:40
14 I. Pròlogo. Tranquillo 02:01 $ 0.48 USD
15 II. Danza 1. Feroce 02:53 $ 0.69 USD
16 III. Danza 2. Agitato 02:21 $ 0.56 USD
17 IV. Canto. Mesto 05:09 $ 1.24 USD
18 V. Danza 3. Agitato capriccioso 03:09 $ 0.76 USD
19 VI. Epilogo. Tranquillo 02:07 $ 0.51 USD
  Album total 70:33
ComposerFagerlund, Sebastian
ViolinPensola, Minna
ViolaKilpelainen, Atte
CelloDjupsjobacka, Tomas
ClarinetSundqvist, Christoffer
PianoJumppanen, Paavali
HornJoulain, Hervé
String quartetMeta4

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News