Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Brahms - Symphony No.2

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue numberBIS-2253 SACD
Release date2017-11-21
Orig. sample rate96000 Hz
Total time75:56

On a number of previous recordings, the 40-odd members of the Swedish Chamber Orchestra and Thomas Dausgaard have shed a new light on the Romantic symphonic repertoire, with performances described as ‘tight’, ‘invigorating’, ‘transparent’ and ‘thrilling’. Complete cycles of the symphonies of Schumann and Schubert have appeared alongside individual discs with music by Dvořák, Bruckner and Tchaikovsky, as well as a recording of Johannes Brahms’s First Symphony, released in 2012. The disc was named Recommendation of the Month in the German magazine Fono Forum, while the reviewer in International Record Review described it as ‘an account to make one hope a complete traversal is in the offing’. Five years later that hope is nearing fulfilment, as the team’s recording of Symphony No. 2 is released. Composed during the summer of 1877, which Brahms spent at the idyllic Wörthersee, it is one of his sunniest works, often compared to Beethoven’s Pastoral symphony. It’s followed by the Haydn Variations, in which Brahms was able to combine one of his favourite musical forms – that of theme and variations – with his deep admiration for Joseph Haydn. (Fortunately, the discovery that the theme in question, known as the ‘St Antoni Chorale’, wasn’t by Haydn after all was made long after Brahms’s death.)

The programme continues with other favourites in Brahms’s production, including his greatest commercial success in the form of three of the hugely popular set of Hungarian Dances for piano, here in orchestrations by Thomas Dausgaard. The disc ends in similarly high spirits, with the Academic Festival Overture and its rousing and jubilant C major coda.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 18.19
Extra material for download
  Composer: Brahms, Johannes
  Symphony No.2 in D major, Op.73 (1877) 39:52
01 I. Allegro non troppo 17:23 $ 4.20 USD
02 II. Adagio non troppo – L’istesso tempo, ma grazioso 08:36 $ 2.08 USD
03 III. Allegretto grazioso – Presto ma non assai – Tempo I 04:50 $ 1.17 USD
04 IV. Allegro con spirito 09:03 $ 2.26 USD
  Variations on a Theme by Joseph Haydn, Op. 56a (1873) 17:03
05 Thema. Chorale St. Antoni. Andante 01:50 $ 0.44 USD
06 Variation I. Poco più animato 01:10 $ 0.28 USD
07 Variation II. Più vivace 01:00 $ 0.24 USD
08 Variation III. Con moto 01:46 $ 0.42 USD
09 Variation IV. Andante con moto 02:06 $ 0.50 USD
10 Variation V. Vivace 00:54 $ 0.22 USD
11 Variation VI. Vivace 01:19 $ 0.32 USD
12 Variation VII. Grazioso 02:46 $ 0.66 USD
13 Variation VIII. Presto non troppo 00:56 $ 0.22 USD
14 Finale. Andante 03:16 $ 0.85 USD
  Hungarian Dances from WoO 1 (1869) 07:42
15 No.6 in D flat major. Vivace – Molto sostenuto 03:24 $ 0.83 USD
16 No.7 in A major. Allegretto 01:42 $ 0.42 USD
17 No.5 in F sharp minor. Allegro – Vivace 02:36 $ 0.67 USD
  Academic Festival Overture, Op. 80 (1880)
18 Allegro—Maestoso—Animato—Maestoso 09:27 $ 2.40 USD
  Album total 75:56
ComposerBrahms, Johannes
OrchestratorDausgaard, Thomas

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News