Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Albéniz - Piano Music, Vol. 5

Catalogue numberBIS-1443 CD
Release date2005-05-28
Orig. sample rate44100Hz
Total time70:05

Music Web International: outstanding.

There is more to Spanish music than de Falla, and there is more to the piano music of Albéniz than Iberia! This is what Miguel Baselga shows us here on the fifth volume of his highly acclaimed survey of Albéniz. The previous volumes have been dominated by the four books of the composer’s most famous work – this one opens with Suite Espagnole, the young Albéniz’s first major effort in a new Spanish style. It was in the late 1880’s that Albéniz emerged as a composer of originality and significance, creating a genre of musical travelogues for solo piano. Combining Romantic harmony with Spanish rhythm and melody, he captured the exotic allure of places such as Sevilla and Málaga. But not all of the works Albéniz composed during the 1880s and early 1890s were in a Spanish style. Himself a concert pianist, he had a wide repertoire and was thoroughly familiar with the Romantic tradition of Mendelssohn, Chopin and Liszt. Many works of this period reflect their influence, for instance his Sonata No. 4. Another influence was the music of the18th century, including that of Domenico Scarlatti, which to some extent is audible in the Suite Ancienne No. 2. So all in all, there is a lot more to Albéniz than Iberia!

Some words about previous volumes of this series:

"Berauschend agil und rhytmisch spannungsgeladen agiert Baselga, der immer die richtigen Akzente und mit der entsprechenden ungezügelten Wucht zu spielen versteht." Piano News (BIS-CD-943)

"Baselga’s smouldering, assured artistry (captured in bright, immediate sound) merits serious attention." International Record Review (BIS-CD-1043)

"With an unfailing lyricism, this young pianist grabs the ear and leads it to hear his music in new ways." American Record Guide (BIS-CD-1143)

"El Albéniz de Baselga no es sólo fenomenal: tiene personalidad." Ritmo (BIS-CD-1243)
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 14.29
Extra material for download
  Composer: Albéniz, Isaac
  Suite Espagnole (T.61) 34:48
01 I. Granada (Serenata) 04:00 $ 0.84 USD
02 II. Cataluna (Curranda) 04:35 $ 0.96 USD
03 II. Sevilla (Sevillanas) 04:33 $ 0.96 USD
04 IV. Cádiz (Canción/Saeta) 04:23 $ 0.92 USD
05 V. Asturias (Leyenda) 04:56 $ 1.04 USD
06 VI. Aragón (Fantasía) 04:17 $ 0.90 USD
07 VII. Castilla (Seguidillas) 02:42 $ 0.57 USD
08 VIII. Cuba (Capricho/Nocturno) 05:22 $ 1.13 USD
  Sonata No.4 (T.75) 17:31
09 I. Allegro 06:14 $ 1.31 USD
10 II. Scherzo 02:05 $ 0.44 USD
11 III. Minuetto 05:15 $ 1.10 USD
12 IV. Rondó 03:57 $ 0.83 USD
  Suite Ancienne No.2 (T.66) 07:17
13 I. Sarabande 04:17 $ 0.90 USD
14 II. Chaconne 03:00 $ 0.63 USD
15 Arbola Azpian (Zortzico) (T.84) 04:40 $ 0.98 USD
16 Pavana Capricho (T.48) 03:48 $ 0.80 USD
  Album total 70:05
ComposerAlbéniz, Isaac
PianoBaselga, Miguel

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News