Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Beethoven - Complete works for solo piano, Vol.2

Catalogue numberBIS-1363 SACD
Release date2005-06-29
Orig. sample rate88200Hz
Total time81:04

Music Web International Recording of the Year 2005.

The first volume in this series, featuring the Pathétique Sonata (Op. 13), was released last year to great acclaim from critics all over the world. In fact, several reviewers were looking forward to what they judged had the potential to become ‘a monument’, ‘one of the best complete series of all time’ and ‘a Beethoven piano-sonata cycle that challenges the very notion of playing this music on modern instruments’. Ronald Brautigam’s interpretations on his especially built fortepiano were described as ‘riveting’, ‘compelling’, ‘revolutionary’‚ and ‘refreshingly direct’‚ and the multichannel recording as ‘first class’ and ‘up to BIS’ highest standards’.

On "Early Vienna Sonatas", the second disc of the series, we go backwards in time a couple of years. Beethoven has just arrived in Vienna, and is taking lessons with Haydn – lessons which he himself found less than earth-shattering. He has also made the acquaintance of Prince Lichnowsky, a patron whose support would be very important for the young composer during the coming decades. The Op. 2 sonatas were in fact first performed at a concert at Prince Lichnowsky’s residence before an audience which included Haydn, who insisted on a dedication – to Beethoven’s annoyance. (He privately stated that he had ‘nie etwas gelernt’ (‘never learned anything’) from Haydn.) Written by a young man obviously intending to make his mark, the Op. 2 sonatas are on a much grander scale than those of Haydn and Mozart. They are also much more virtuosic – something that Ronald Brautigam takes in his stride!
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 16.65
Extra material for download
  Composer: Beethoven, Ludwig van
  Sonata No.1 in F minor, Op.2 No.1 15:58
01 I. Allegro 03:19 $ 0.70 USD
02 II. Adagio 05:01 $ 1.05 USD
03 III. Menuetto. Allegretto 03:27 $ 0.72 USD
04 IV. Prestissimo 04:11 $ 0.88 USD
  Sonata No.2 in A major, Op.2 No.2 22:19
05 I. Allegro vivace 06:45 $ 1.42 USD
06 II. Largo appassionato 05:54 $ 1.24 USD
07 III. Scherzo. Allegretto 03:21 $ 0.70 USD
08 IV. Rondo. Grazioso 06:19 $ 1.33 USD
  Sonata No.3 in C major, Op.2 No.3 26:26
09 I. Allegro con brio 10:24 $ 2.18 USD
10 II. Adagio 07:36 $ 1.60 USD
11 III. Scherzo. Allegro 03:00 $ 0.63 USD
12 IV. Allegro assai 05:26 $ 1.14 USD
  Sonata No.19 in G minor, Op.49 No.1 06:51
13 I. Andante 03:53 $ 0.82 USD
14 II. Rondo. Allegro 02:58 $ 0.62 USD
  Sonata No.20 in G major, Op.49 No.2 07:43
15 I. Allegro, ma non troppo 04:43 $ 0.99 USD
16 II. Tempo di Menuetto 03:00 $ 0.63 USD
  Album total 81:04
ComposerBeethoven, Ludwig van
FortepianoBrautigam, Ronald

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News